We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed one night here, the welcome we recieved was wonderful, we felt right at home straight away, the room was exceptionally clean, the bed was fantastic, the location was terrific, right acorss the road form the hot pools, would reccomend this motel to anyone and everyone

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymagik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    184
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
119
270
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Lovely location, very clean. Kama at the reception who manages the motel was so helpful and had lots of ideas on what to do when our walk was cancelled on the first day. Great recommendations - Alice Mays and Picnic bakery.

Lots of space for a family - AND great views of the glacier when sunny

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happiestonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Excellent units, owners fantastic, directly opposite hot pools, top place to stay. Highly recommend. The hot pools arr great. Also enjoyed the bike track up to the glacier. Picnics bakery is a must. Had a great dinner at Alice Mays. Top stay in Franz.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacks50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked this place based on other reviews and we were so glad we did. The lady at the reception was SO friendly (like all Kiwi's) It was clean and well equipped - bathroom was modern and large and the showers in NZ are SUPER powerful. The bed was 2 singles pushed together to make a queenand my side was very uncomfortable - my hubbies was fine (i;m a bit of a bed snob though) I would deffo stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sin2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

It's amazing what we got for a very low rate: our family of 4 got a 2 bedroom apartment with a living room and complete kitchen! One thing I realized while making all of our bookings is how family-friendly the lodgings in New Zealand are. In so many places that we've gone to in Europe & South America the rooms would take at most 3, or you are allowed 4 people if 2 are children 12 and under. The apartments gave us the opportunity to spend more family time.
Anne @ 58 On Cron was so warm and friendly - we arrived to a cozy spacious room and she provided us with all kinds of good advice and information (don't miss the glowworms on the other side of town). The motel is nestled in the forest, right across the street from the hot pools and 2 blocks from the main street of town that has a good grocery store (that closes at 7:30), restaurants (that usually close around 9pm) and the kiwi centre.
To top it all of, my son forgot some stuff in the room which she immediately informed us about and is mailing to us.
Can't recommend it enough!!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartments are a great bargain!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONCORD
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I only stayed here one night but it was a very good choice. The motel is right across the street from the Hot Springs and about a one minute walk. It's only about a 5 minute walk to the local main street so it is very convenient. The owner greeted me with a smile (always welcome) and showed me to the room, which contained a room with two single beds and a room with a king bed. There was a central heater so the rooms were a bit cool overnight but still comfortable. Nice, small kitchen (full sized refrigerator, stove top, oven, microwave and cutlery and plates. Quiet location, BBQ outside, two flat screen TV's, Internet (you only get 100MB for the night to share) and a good one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveleasier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Staff was friendly, room was clean, and large, and comfy. We were even given a free bottle of wine because we were on our honeymoon. The location is great - just across the street from the hot pools (which was worth going to). DVDs were free to check out. Very well maintained hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vashka0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#5 of 13 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Property: 58 On Cron Motel
Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing