We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
275
200
37
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
200
37
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolshot springsone nightfranz josephalice mayslady at receptionbedroom apartmentmin walkthe main highwaysky tvthe location is perfectglacier guidesbars and restaurantsplace to staynew zealandstayed for nightsfox glacier
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

It is small, clean and good value motel. Staff is nice and rooms are large. We took apartment (2 rooms) and it serve our 4 very well. Only watch out is a noisy heater in case you need it (at least in our apartment it could have been quieter). Extra bonus are the hot pools across the street, great retreat after a day in mountains (be prepared to pay 80$ for family of 4 there. You can get discount if you book through motel). Net, if you are looking for 1-2 nights stay take it.

Looking for more tips on NZ follow my other posts. Helpful? Vote so.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PleasuresHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights in December. We had studio with 2 beds, bath and cooking facilities. The owners were extremely helpful, and the location was very good. 58 CRON is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gretchen1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly receptionist, free wifi, good location. Only downside is all the bedrooms are right at the front and you need to keep the curtains drawn for privacy. Keeps the room dark. The spa is nice. Rooms are well sized. Free DVDs at reception.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank theDr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is a well run, well managed hotel. Rooms are smart, clean and reasonably large. We (my husband and I) had a one bed unit, which had twin beds in the bedroom and a double in the living room. We would have preferred - and feel it would make more sense - to have the double in the bedroom. This would provide greater privacy and prevent having to have the curtains drawn across the main windows/doors for so long. As others have said, these rooms look out onto the same central area, but the large windows/doors have net curtains as well as main curtains, giving some privacy during the day. Our only real problem was the type/quality of the pillows, which caused us some neck problems.

Access and parking is very easy. Wifi is good and we were given a free 100mb allowance per night. We were a little surprised at the lack of toiletries in the bathroom - just soap dispensers by the basin and in the shower, given the generally high quality of this motel. We were also surprised to have to pay to use the washing machines, but clearly Franz Joseph is an expensive area. TV channels are very limited, but there is a wide selection of DVDs in reception, for guests to borrow,

The owners are lovely people, so friendly and helpful. Very knowledgeable about the local area and services and eager to do everything they can to make your stay in the motel and in the town as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Not Worth the Money. I Will not recommend this motel to a friend. Location is ok, but the poor service is disapointing. The room is clean but very unpersonal. We paid 240 nzd per night and it was too much in compared with past places we had stayed at during our vacation in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opdagelserejsende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews