We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 disappointing nights”
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“2 disappointing nights”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Small room for 6 people: 1 living room with double bed and convertible sofa and kitchen, 1 bedroom with 2 twin beds, 1 small bathroom with shower.

Hot water and heating system, fortunately because we got rain almost all day!
Warm welcome but average service: no cleaning of the room, minimum wifi service (100MB for 6 people per night).
Disappointing!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank goasiabiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne-n-richard, Owner at 58 On Cron Motel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Goasiabiz,
I am sorry to read that you found your stay with us disappointing. When you book on any site we have all room descriptions and photos of each room type displayed. This enables our guests to make there selection and choose what room is suitable before they arrive.
All our rooms are serviced daily. This is not a full clean. We also do not touch any personal items that are over beds or benches.
We do offer 100mbs free wireless internet per night as a complimentary service. You don't pay for this. It has no time restrictions and you can use it and connect as many times until it is all used up. You then can purchase more if you require it .
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Kind regards
Anne & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    181
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
116
267
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We enjoyed two nights in Franz Josef and the location and setting of 58 on Cron were perfect for us - just off the main highway yet within walking distance of the restaurants and tour companies.
The motel had a small kitchenette and laundry facilities which we greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

It is small, clean and good value motel. Staff is nice and rooms are large. We took apartment (2 rooms) and it serve our 4 very well. Only watch out is a noisy heater in case you need it (at least in our apartment it could have been quieter). Extra bonus are the hot pools across the street, great retreat after a day in mountains (be prepared to pay 80$ for family of 4 there. You can get discount if you book through motel). Net, if you are looking for 1-2 nights stay take it.

Looking for more tips on NZ follow my other posts. Helpful? Vote so.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PleasuresHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights in December. We had studio with 2 beds, bath and cooking facilities. The owners were extremely helpful, and the location was very good. 58 CRON is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gretchen1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly receptionist, free wifi, good location. Only downside is all the bedrooms are right at the front and you need to keep the curtains drawn for privacy. Keeps the room dark. The spa is nice. Rooms are well sized. Free DVDs at reception.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank theDr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is a well run, well managed hotel. Rooms are smart, clean and reasonably large. We (my husband and I) had a one bed unit, which had twin beds in the bedroom and a double in the living room. We would have preferred - and feel it would make more sense - to have the double in the bedroom. This would provide greater privacy and prevent having to have the curtains drawn across the main windows/doors for so long. As others have said, these rooms look out onto the same central area, but the large windows/doors have net curtains as well as main curtains, giving some privacy during the day. Our only real problem was the type/quality of the pillows, which caused us some neck problems.

Access and parking is very easy. Wifi is good and we were given a free 100mb allowance per night. We were a little surprised at the lack of toiletries in the bathroom - just soap dispensers by the basin and in the shower, given the generally high quality of this motel. We were also surprised to have to pay to use the washing machines, but clearly Franz Joseph is an expensive area. TV channels are very limited, but there is a wide selection of DVDs in reception, for guests to borrow,

The owners are lovely people, so friendly and helpful. Very knowledgeable about the local area and services and eager to do everything they can to make your stay in the motel and in the town as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Not Worth the Money. I Will not recommend this motel to a friend. Location is ok, but the poor service is disapointing. The room is clean but very unpersonal. We paid 240 nzd per night and it was too much in compared with past places we had stayed at during our vacation in New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opdagelserejsende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Property: 58 On Cron Motel
Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing