We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
275
200
37
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
200
37
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolshot springsone nightfranz josephalice mayslady at receptionbedroom apartmentmin walkthe main highwaysky tvthe location is perfectglacier guidesbars and restaurantsplace to staynew zealandstayed for nightsfox glacier
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Good size room for our family of 6 - the main room had a queen and a sofa bed, and then there was an adjoining room with two twins. The sofa bed could have been better, but otherwise this was a very clean and well laid out room. We left behind a bar of chocolate in the fridge and went back 2 hours later and it was gone. Of course, we had already checked out, but at least the lady at reception tried to help us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at this motel during my honeymoon between the 27th till the 29th of December. It's a ten minute walk from all the main restaurants and activities in the middle of town, which is pretty good. No need for a car to travel around as Franz Josef is a very small town. Our room was well furnished and had everything we needed except an air-conditioner for cooling at night. The kitchen area had everything we needed to make our own food, including salt and pepper. The local supermarket was a ten minute walk away so making your own meals was pretty convenient. Overall we enjoyed our stay here, no complaints at all. The owner was also very helpful and suggested activities for us to do.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Small room for 6 people: 1 living room with double bed and convertible sofa and kitchen, 1 bedroom with 2 twin beds, 1 small bathroom with shower.

Hot water and heating system, fortunately because we got rain almost all day!
Warm welcome but average service: no cleaning of the room, minimum wifi service (100MB for 6 people per night).
Disappointing!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank goasiabiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne-n-richard, Owner at 58 On Cron Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Goasiabiz,
I am sorry to read that you found your stay with us disappointing. When you book on any site we have all room descriptions and photos of each room type displayed. This enables our guests to make there selection and choose what room is suitable before they arrive.
All our rooms are serviced daily. This is not a full clean. We also do not touch any personal items that are over beds or benches.
We do offer 100mbs free wireless internet per night as a complimentary service. You don't pay for this. It has no time restrictions and you can use it and connect as many times until it is all used up. You then can purchase more if you require it .
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Kind regards
Anne & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We enjoyed two nights in Franz Josef and the location and setting of 58 on Cron were perfect for us - just off the main highway yet within walking distance of the restaurants and tour companies.
The motel had a small kitchenette and laundry facilities which we greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

It is small, clean and good value motel. Staff is nice and rooms are large. We took apartment (2 rooms) and it serve our 4 very well. Only watch out is a noisy heater in case you need it (at least in our apartment it could have been quieter). Extra bonus are the hot pools across the street, great retreat after a day in mountains (be prepared to pay 80$ for family of 4 there. You can get discount if you book through motel). Net, if you are looking for 1-2 nights stay take it.

Looking for more tips on NZ follow my other posts. Helpful? Vote so.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PleasuresHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews