We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
275
200
37
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
200
37
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolshot springsone nightfranz josephalice mayslady at receptionbedroom apartmentmin walkthe main highwaysky tvthe location is perfectglacier guidesbars and restaurantsplace to staynew zealandstayed for nightsfox glacier
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Clean and efficient with modern decor in very good order. Its reliably well run and very well kept. Its also straight opposite hot pools and the two day spas! What could be better. The hosts are polite and professional and their admin is excellent.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank arps999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

One of the most modern motels we've seen at our New Zealand trip. Nice bedding, very good room layout. Bathroom ok but a bit small for a family of four.

5 minutes walking distance to almost everything in Franz Josef. Plenty of good food options around (you should try the monsoon bar&restaurant).

If you fancy the hot pools they are just opposite the motel and you can walk there in your bathing shorts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Very straight forward: the complex is well maintained, clean, nice rooms, well managed and friendly. Good access to local restaurants and shops. We enjoyed our time here and can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octopuspusine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Good size room for our family of 6 - the main room had a queen and a sofa bed, and then there was an adjoining room with two twins. The sofa bed could have been better, but otherwise this was a very clean and well laid out room. We left behind a bar of chocolate in the fridge and went back 2 hours later and it was gone. Of course, we had already checked out, but at least the lady at reception tried to help us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at this motel during my honeymoon between the 27th till the 29th of December. It's a ten minute walk from all the main restaurants and activities in the middle of town, which is pretty good. No need for a car to travel around as Franz Josef is a very small town. Our room was well furnished and had everything we needed except an air-conditioner for cooling at night. The kitchen area had everything we needed to make our own food, including salt and pepper. The local supermarket was a ten minute walk away so making your own meals was pretty convenient. Overall we enjoyed our stay here, no complaints at all. The owner was also very helpful and suggested activities for us to do.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews