We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice motel”
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice motel”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were one of the lucky ones who had hot, sunny weather throughout our stay. This did make for a very warm unit after a full day in the sunshine, so I was a bit concerned at first that the windows did not have screens. Luckily, sandflies do not seem to be a problem there. The unit was nicely updated and comfortable. It's a great location, walking distance to walking tracks, local shopping, restaurants and coffee. I would definitely suggest stocking up on groceries elsewhere because Franz Josef's supermarket is quite tiny, minimally stocked and VERY busy.

Really, for us, there were only 2 downsides to staying here. 1) One set of outdoor table/chairs per every two units, situated right in front of the entrances to the two units. If your neighbor was sitting outside, you literally had to step over them to enter your unit. I really wasn't interested in even using the table/chairs because they are set in the parking lot. With such a beautiful location, it would have been really nice for each unit to have its own little verandah. 2) The entrance to the units is a large sliding glass door and large windows that look right out into the parking lot. The bedrooms are located at the front of the units, so you either keep your curtains closed and shut out the main source of natural light into the unit or get looked in upon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeno85712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    184
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
119
270
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

58 on the Cron was a perfect overnight along our trek up the coast from Queensland. We arrived later in the day, and temperatures were a nit chilly in the eve, but very snug in our room. Walking distance to the Hot springs! A real plus and very convenient. Rooms were nice, and had a modern feel with the design. Clean and comfortable. DEC/JAN 2012

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtrachtenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This place was perfect for our short stay in Franz Josef. Super clean room, very spacious, close to all of the places to eat and drink. My wife and I arrived late but the front desk left a very personal note on the window instructing us to go to room 1 and sign in the following morning-I love NZ!! I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItAintFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for two nights in early December 2013 in a one bedroom unit. The welcome at reception was friendly and parking was easy and right outside the apartment. We had free wi-fi and when the token ran out we were provided with more.

Unfortunately the unit was not as modern, clean or spacious as it appeared on the website. The unit needs updating and modernising. The beds don’t have headboards and are just pushed up against the wall, however, the beds were comfy and clean. The bedrooms are at the front of the units so you are either overlooked or have to keep the curtains closed.

The lounge/kitchenette is quite dark and rather uninspiring. The sofa was tired and threadbare in patches and the coffee table was a bit sticky. The overall feel of the unit was a bit disappointing.

The bathroom was not as clean as we would have liked. The skirting boards needed a good wipe, as did the shelf over the mirror. There was a slightly unclean smell to the area around the toilet. The shower, however, was new, powerful and clean.

It isn’t a bad place to stay but we saw other motels which looked better.

We ate at Alice May’s both nights which was a short walk from the apartment. The food was excellent, as was the service and the surroundings. We would definitely recommend trying this restaurant if you stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne-n-richard, Owner at 58 On Cron Motel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Mathew M,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.I'm sorry to read your room was not up to your expectation.We would like to respond to some of your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed our free WiFi.Our photos on the website are exactly what our rooms look like and many of our guests comment on this.They only change from the website pictures are the bedspreads as we have replaced all of these.We are glad you enjoyed our comfy beds.
The sofa in your unit had just been newly recovered and it had pulled away at the edging .We had to arrange for it to be repaired and you must have stayed in between it being repaired.
In regards to the bathroom it would have been nice to have been informed about it at the time of your stay instead of reading about it 2 months later.Had we known we would have dealt straight away with this at the time if there were problems.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip .
Kind regards
Anne & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the middle of February.

Very nice and clean property.

They also booked a private pool on the other side of the street - this gives you a 10 % discount.

They also arranged our helicopter tour to the glacier - worked perfect even though it has been arranged via email before our arrival.

However - and this is not an issue to the motel but to the whole area - be aware of sandflies. I had spayed myself but then took of my socks siiting outside our room and I had two bites on my feets.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILKLEY
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We found it with sat nav, we got a welcome & limited WI-Fi voucher.
The room was fine & clean. Not much more to say except that when I mentioned we were thinking of dinner at the Blue Ice Cafe, the owner arranged for the restaurant to pick us up in the stretch Hummer so we could 'drink'.
A very nice experience

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night on our trip down the west coast but it was a nice room and very comfortable. We enjoyed our night here and visited the hot springs opposite the hotel ( book a private pool it's well worth it!). We also went to the Alice May restaurant which was just up the road.
Would recommend this hotel as an ideal stop over.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hew751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Property: 58 On Cron Motel
Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing