We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
275
200
37
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
200
37
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolshot springsone nightfranz josephalice mayslady at receptionbedroom apartmentmin walkthe main highwaysky tvthe location is perfectglacier guidesbars and restaurantsplace to staynew zealandstayed for nightsfox glacier
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

As many people on Tripadvisor described this place as basic, we weren't expecting much and were wonderfully surprised. Anne at reception was lovely and VERY helpful (also booked our half day heli hike on the glacier).. The room is very nice. We had a king bed, tv, nice little kitchenette with fridge, microwave, hob, kettle, well fitted out with dishes, glasses, cutlery, etc. Lovely bathroom with both a shower and a big spa tub. Place tastefully decorated. The only thing, as others have mentioned, is the room opening onto the parking lot/courtyard. It was not too bad for us as there was only one car parked in front of our room even though the place was full. Tables and chairs outside are fairly close together which I have discovered is quite common in New Zealand. It's a very short walk to restaurants, the kiwi park, the heli-hike center and gift shops. We ate at Alice May's twice and it was great both times! Hot springs spa right across the street. Thanks Anne!
Nancy and Mike O'Neill

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twigaduma2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were one of the lucky ones who had hot, sunny weather throughout our stay. This did make for a very warm unit after a full day in the sunshine, so I was a bit concerned at first that the windows did not have screens. Luckily, sandflies do not seem to be a problem there. The unit was nicely updated and comfortable. It's a great location, walking distance to walking tracks, local shopping, restaurants and coffee. I would definitely suggest stocking up on groceries elsewhere because Franz Josef's supermarket is quite tiny, minimally stocked and VERY busy.

Really, for us, there were only 2 downsides to staying here. 1) One set of outdoor table/chairs per every two units, situated right in front of the entrances to the two units. If your neighbor was sitting outside, you literally had to step over them to enter your unit. I really wasn't interested in even using the table/chairs because they are set in the parking lot. With such a beautiful location, it would have been really nice for each unit to have its own little verandah. 2) The entrance to the units is a large sliding glass door and large windows that look right out into the parking lot. The bedrooms are located at the front of the units, so you either keep your curtains closed and shut out the main source of natural light into the unit or get looked in upon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jeno85712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

58 on the Cron was a perfect overnight along our trek up the coast from Queensland. We arrived later in the day, and temperatures were a nit chilly in the eve, but very snug in our room. Walking distance to the Hot springs! A real plus and very convenient. Rooms were nice, and had a modern feel with the design. Clean and comfortable. DEC/JAN 2012

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtrachtenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This place was perfect for our short stay in Franz Josef. Super clean room, very spacious, close to all of the places to eat and drink. My wife and I arrived late but the front desk left a very personal note on the window instructing us to go to room 1 and sign in the following morning-I love NZ!! I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItAintFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for two nights in early December 2013 in a one bedroom unit. The welcome at reception was friendly and parking was easy and right outside the apartment. We had free wi-fi and when the token ran out we were provided with more.

Unfortunately the unit was not as modern, clean or spacious as it appeared on the website. The unit needs updating and modernising. The beds don’t have headboards and are just pushed up against the wall, however, the beds were comfy and clean. The bedrooms are at the front of the units so you are either overlooked or have to keep the curtains closed.

The lounge/kitchenette is quite dark and rather uninspiring. The sofa was tired and threadbare in patches and the coffee table was a bit sticky. The overall feel of the unit was a bit disappointing.

The bathroom was not as clean as we would have liked. The skirting boards needed a good wipe, as did the shelf over the mirror. There was a slightly unclean smell to the area around the toilet. The shower, however, was new, powerful and clean.

It isn’t a bad place to stay but we saw other motels which looked better.

We ate at Alice May’s both nights which was a short walk from the apartment. The food was excellent, as was the service and the surroundings. We would definitely recommend trying this restaurant if you stay here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne-n-richard, Owner at 58 On Cron Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Mathew M,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.I'm sorry to read your room was not up to your expectation.We would like to respond to some of your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed our free WiFi.Our photos on the website are exactly what our rooms look like and many of our guests comment on this.They only change from the website pictures are the bedspreads as we have replaced all of these.We are glad you enjoyed our comfy beds.
The sofa in your unit had just been newly recovered and it had pulled away at the edging .We had to arrange for it to be repaired and you must have stayed in between it being repaired.
In regards to the bathroom it would have been nice to have been informed about it at the time of your stay instead of reading about it 2 months later.Had we known we would have dealt straight away with this at the time if there were problems.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip .
Kind regards
Anne & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews