We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We loved this motel. It has a modern style and furniture, very clean, and comfortable. Great sleep quality. It is not right on the main road, keeping it away from traffic, but still right in the middle of the township, across the hot springs. Friendly people at the reception and a great BBQ place! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duguevara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

The best part about this motel's location is that the hot pools are right across it. We stayed for 2 nights and since we couldnt go out due to rains, we spent most of the time in the hot pools or in the motel room. The staff was very friendly; they have a huge collection of DVDs that you can borrow and watch, as well as umbrellas that you could use when it rains there! Very spacious rooms, great kitchenette facilities and sufficient parking space. Very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbee306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. The apartment was a good size and had everything we needed, it was clean and tidy.

The motel is situated on a quiet road a few minutes walk from the central area. There are a few bars/restaurants close to the motel.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5tings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Highly recommended for anyone making the drive along the west coast.

Pros:
• Clean room
• Friendly staff
• Quiet
• Just a short walk away from the best restaurant in town (Alice May)

Cons:
• The laundry room opening time is a bit short

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank BlueJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Well located motel in Franz Josef. Very clean room, spacious with a kitchenette which was fantastic. Nce comfy bed and quiet. Located close to lots of places to eat. We ate at King Tiger and Alice May's, which were all within a few metres. There are also quite a few other places to have a drink and eat. Wouldnt want anything more from a motel to be honest, Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaShir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in a Studio unit and a King Studio unit for 2 nights. And the units were really clean and spacious with everything we needed.

Also, the staff at 58 On Cron Motel were extremely helpful, telling us everything we need to know or have while at Franz Josef Glacier.

I would recommend anyone visiting Franz Josef Glacier to stay at this motel as it is a convenient spot, whereby you don't miss anything at Franz Josef Glacier.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A clean and friendly motel with good laundry facilities and well equipped bedrooms. Easy parking and set back from main road - so quiet! Not basic, but does what it say on the tin. V. helpful staff.
It has the bonus of being opposite the thermal pools too!

Room Tip: All rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50yearoldcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £56 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing