We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Franz.....”
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our fav place to stay "Oasis" was priced above and beyond compared to our last stay so we thought we would travel into Franz and see what was available. We had stayed here at 58 a couple of years ago so thought we would see if they had any rooms available, and they did! The service was very friendly and they offered us a great rate, the room was immaculately clean and to our surprise on a very cold evening the bed had an electric blanket and a very good heater in the room, the rooms are of good size with a basic kitchenette and good shower! Upon checking out the following morning the staff again were really friendly and wished us a safe journey to our destination. We will most definately be staying there again. The complex is also handy to all attractions, especially the hot pools.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaGray80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Good :
- Its a walking distance to the "town" area where you can shop nice souvenirs, supermarket, bakery and several eateries.
- Able to rent DVDs from reception.
- The ladies in the reception are the sweetest darlings you can ever meet.

The Bad :
- There is no lock at the toilet door. "Awkward" if caught with your pants down,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SupsteeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Overall a very favourable impression of the facilities and the service provided here. We booked on the in house web site a 2night stay (minor discount for 2 days) in a 1 bedroomed unit and when arrived were given unit 15, though I dont think it particularly matters as there isnt really a more favourable view or sunset orientation (see later).
One small/medium sized room contained some seating and the wall mounted TV, dining area, kitchen area and a large double bed, then one small bedroom containing 2 single beds, cabinet and wardrobe, and a small bathroom.(there is a communal laundry facility but we didnt use it) Everything works and looks fresh and neutral. Very impressed with the shower and the power which made me think of the other units that include a sauna bath ( in one of our other NZ hotels stays we found these sauna baths very under whelming as they dont have the Jacuzzi power of commercial units. This shower was great and if you were an all day tramper you could get a full force of very hot water on your shoulders and back etc. Pity it didnt have a removable hose when it would be perfect. In my opinion more enjoyable than the overpriced Hot Pools facility opposite.
These units are pure function over style, well perhaps booking a motel it is expected. They along with other FJ ventures are along some side streets that reminded me of a small industrial estate in the UK. 58 On Cron takes it one further in that each accommodation unit is ground floor only and they do appear to be small metal clad industrial units accessed by a sliding panel/patio door. Once inside it is domestic though. The view is only other units opposite or some ferns from the back window. You only get a view of the mountain top a few yards on the walk into the village.
I also learnt that this area is an all year destination which therefore makes the rate seem very overpriced. Our overall impression of these two glacier villages was one of “pushing it” with the prices charged and ways of extracting the tourist pound. Don’t get me wrong, we had a great time visiting both glaciers on foot and walking around Lake Mathieson (we were blessed with good weather ), we resisted the pull of glacier walks or the helicopter trips (try and blot out their noise too as you hike around). The views, the geology, the water spouting from the rock, your time in the open walking to the glacier fronts are the memorable moments here.
Accommodation certainly worth considering.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely large room with an extra bedroom. Nice kitchenette. Good bath. No complaints. Weather was bad so we watched movies which the management provided. That was nice because we were feeling down since we couldn't hike the glacier.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likestotravel1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We had 2 nights here, very warm welcome on arrival and were shown to our lovely unit.

The place was fantastic. A huge room, very clean, tidy and well kept. Two minutes walk from the Main Street (like everywhere in Franz Josef!) but very quiet.

Lots of info from the owner about what to do, where everything is in town, etc. stacks of DVDs in reception for a quiet night in too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephencrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived the day after the storms caused by Cyclone Ita - having pre - booked a 5-day stay. Despite there being no power for a day or two, we cannot fault the welcome, hospitality received, or efforts to create some sort of normality at what was a very challenging time.
Once power returned we enjoyed a superb stay in what is a clean, well appointed and very friendly Motel. Anne & Richard are superb hosts, which made our stay excellent despite the circumstances. We would definitely return and fully recommend 58 on Cron to anyone visiting Franz Josef.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PeteWR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Sadly due to Cyclone Ita we could only get to stay one night. Despite the power being out our hosts went out of their way to get hot showers, fresh milk and hit water for a cup of tea. Hope the town and region are back in order soon..An ideal place to stay between Glaciers.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £74 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing