We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
58 On Cron Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
268
196
36
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
196
36
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolshot springsone nightfree wififranz josephalice mayslady at receptiongood sizebedroom apartmentwalking distancesky tvthe location is perfectglacier guidesbars and restaurantsplace to staystayed for two nightssouth island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We only overnighted here between Nelson and Wanaka but this was a lovely little motel. Ann was very friendly in recommending places to eat and things to see while we were in town. We had some nasty weather whilst we were there and she kindly looked up road conditions before we checked out. Very thoughtful. Lots of free DVDs to borrow for the rainy days too! Motel has all of the Sky channels (including the movie channels) and also offers free wi-fi. New Zealand never ceases to amaze me with the level of friendly service and amenities offered to travelers. Australian tourism operators could learn a thing or two from them. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms were pretty similar. Plenty of space to park the car right in front of the room which is handy for loading and unloading luggage.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GoNQCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very good place for a night or two when visiting Franz Josef. Motel is quite new and modern, not run-down like a lot of the others in FJ. Room was immaculately clean and well equipped with TV, SkyTV, kitchenette with sufficient hardware to make your own small meals. Bathroom was excellent and clean. HOT water with heaps of pressure.

Good beds, with electric blankets if you want them. We were there in winter and didn't need them though. There's a good little heater on the wall which was plenty. There's a laundry available for paid washing/drying etc. Looked fine, although we didn't use it.

Service was great, with friendly staff, helpful advice etc. We were allowed to leave our car parked in the grounds after check-out while we went heli-hiking. Believe it or not the parking is almost all 60-minute maximum in town. That said I never saw anyone with a ticket, or anyone doing the rounds checking how long cars had been parked there.

Place is about 5 minutes walk from the main drag, which is about as far as you can be from the main drag in this small town. I imagine it would be pretty quiet even during a busy period, as it's well away from the backpackers etc.

Overall nothing really to fault with this place and plenty to like. Don't recall the prices for this or other places in town, but it can be a rather expensive little place, so be prepared for that. You might find something cheaper, but I doubt you'll find a newer or cleaner place than this.

Has wifi, and the first 100MB is free, paid after that. Personally I'm not sure this is necessary these days, but lots of hotels in NZ still do it.

Petrol in particular is expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattJJ_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The host Ms Ann was very friendly and helpful. For those travelers who is traveled by intercity coach, this is the most convenience place to stay as one of the coach captain is the husband of the host. With her assistance the coach dropped off and picked up us at the Motel instead of the main bus stop of Franz Josef. During our stay, it just started to install the Sky Channel, the host learnt that we liked to watch the World Cup, she specifically asked the technician to fix up the channels in our room first so that we did not miss the game.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKYONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I spent 2 nights here to see the glaciers. Staff we're friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect for the 4 of us - clean, warm, across the road from the thermal pools! Easy walk/drive to restaurants, shops, wilderness centre. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived into Franz Josef pretty early and they were still cleaning all of the rooms, but the owner let us park right next to our room, as we were walking into town for a Glacier Hike. This is a great location and the room was very clean and spacious. I would recommend this to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikergirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews