We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly”
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Friendly”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and were very happy. The rooms were clean, well appointed and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. The motel is in a great location. There was plenty of parking and enough heating to keep us warm on a cold winters night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karatiara91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    184
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
119
270
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed with friends from England for 2 days in February The motel is situated off the main highway, just one back from the township of Franz Josef which made for a very quiet and peaceful break. The hot pools are directly across the road as well, which were great to relax in after a day of exploring the beautiful area, I definitely want to return in Winter to make use of the pools.
The staff were very friendly with great recommendations for restaurants and activities, they were around if we needed anything but otherwise just left us to ourselves. I highly recommend Franz Josef for a quiet break away from the maddening crowds, but also 58 on Cron as a top Motel.
Thank you to all staff for an excellent stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Queenie-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Would have given it a 5 stars rating if the bed wasn't that soft. Those who prefer a softer bed would have liked this motel.
The room was nicely done up and a major plus point when you are having a number of luggages is able to drive up to your doorway and park right outside it.
The motel was within walking distance to a number of restaurants. That said, as the town was small, most of the other motels were also within walking distance.
The motel has sky tv with a varied selection of movies and sports channels. I have stayed at an international chain hotel prior to my stay here and they too do not offer such selection of TV channels.
Booked a helicopter flight via the motel and got a good discount!
Anne, the host was hospitable and went through some of the restaurants and supermarket location when I first arrived.
Will return to the motel if I visit Franz Josef again!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank trvkaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We only overnighted here between Nelson and Wanaka but this was a lovely little motel. Ann was very friendly in recommending places to eat and things to see while we were in town. We had some nasty weather whilst we were there and she kindly looked up road conditions before we checked out. Very thoughtful. Lots of free DVDs to borrow for the rainy days too! Motel has all of the Sky channels (including the movie channels) and also offers free wi-fi. New Zealand never ceases to amaze me with the level of friendly service and amenities offered to travelers. Australian tourism operators could learn a thing or two from them. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms were pretty similar. Plenty of space to park the car right in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoNQCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very good place for a night or two when visiting Franz Josef. Motel is quite new and modern, not run-down like a lot of the others in FJ. Room was immaculately clean and well equipped with TV, SkyTV, kitchenette with sufficient hardware to make your own small meals. Bathroom was excellent and clean. HOT water with heaps of pressure.

Good beds, with electric blankets if you want them. We were there in winter and didn't need them though. There's a good little heater on the wall which was plenty. There's a laundry available for paid washing/drying etc. Looked fine, although we didn't use it.

Service was great, with friendly staff, helpful advice etc. We were allowed to leave our car parked in the grounds after check-out while we went heli-hiking. Believe it or not the parking is almost all 60-minute maximum in town. That said I never saw anyone with a ticket, or anyone doing the rounds checking how long cars had been parked there.

Place is about 5 minutes walk from the main drag, which is about as far as you can be from the main drag in this small town. I imagine it would be pretty quiet even during a busy period, as it's well away from the backpackers etc.

Overall nothing really to fault with this place and plenty to like. Don't recall the prices for this or other places in town, but it can be a rather expensive little place, so be prepared for that. You might find something cheaper, but I doubt you'll find a newer or cleaner place than this.

Has wifi, and the first 100MB is free, paid after that. Personally I'm not sure this is necessary these days, but lots of hotels in NZ still do it.

Petrol in particular is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattJJ_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The host Ms Ann was very friendly and helpful. For those travelers who is traveled by intercity coach, this is the most convenience place to stay as one of the coach captain is the husband of the host. With her assistance the coach dropped off and picked up us at the Motel instead of the main bus stop of Franz Josef. During our stay, it just started to install the Sky Channel, the host learnt that we liked to watch the World Cup, she specifically asked the technician to fix up the channels in our room first so that we did not miss the game.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKYONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I spent 2 nights here to see the glaciers. Staff we're friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect for the 4 of us - clean, warm, across the road from the thermal pools! Easy walk/drive to restaurants, shops, wilderness centre. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Property: 58 On Cron Motel
Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing