We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, quiet, stylish motel”
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent value, quiet, stylish motel”
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Franz Josef Glacier. Booked online via Wotif. Were delighted when the owner told us that they had charged us too much on Wotif and handed us $50 back! We would never have know so we were really pleased with her honesty. The room was quiet and well supplied with immaculately clean towels, bedding, crockery and cutlery.
A very nice place to stay, opposite a spa place where you can bathe in large communal pools or get a private pool for secluded bathing. Curry house is directly next door and other restaurants, helicopter flights and coffee shops are within 5 minutes walk.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    181
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
116
265
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This was one of our stops on our honeymoon in NZ. This hotel was one of the few that actually included items in the room for free such as coffee, tea, movies, etc. NZ charges for everything unlike in the States. The rooms and grounds were very clean, neat and modern. The location was within walking distance to Franz Josef as are most hotels in FJ. The service was great! The owners and employees were extremely friendly and helpful. The cat and dog on the premises were a joy as well. My wife and I would highly recommend this location for a great place to stop for the night or stay for a week.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sambrown50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

A very typical motel room - park right outside, rooms clean and adequately furnished. Friendly abd efficient checkin. They make a virtue about being right opposite the local Spa and Hot Pools which must be the biggest ripoff on the entire west coast of NZ. $22.50 to get in plus $5 to hire a towel, and they then have the nerve to charge you for a locker as well!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast, NSW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Very clean, comfortable, and in a quiet spot. Fitted out with modern kitchette and bathroom (which had really fluffy towels).

This was the best place we stayed at on our holiday. We stayed here one night on our way down to the south part of the island, and we even rearranged our trip so we could stay there on the way back.

The staff at the reception desk were very helpful. They suggested places to go on our trip and even looked up to see how the roads/ weather was for the direction we were travelling in (as there had been bad weather).

The hot pools across the road were a little pricey, but were worth it. They even had a private pool, which was brilliant, even in the rain.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Had a great one night stay here at the end of March. Very modern and clean rooms and really helpful and friendly staff. Probably the best motel we stayed in during our stay in NZ. If you are looking for things to do in Franz Josef, I can't recommend the heli hike enough and try out the hot pools which are just opposite this motel.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nay-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This motel is a real gem!
We were traveling in a group of 5 and the hotel's two room suite was spacious enough to accomodate us comfortably. I wouldnt call the interiors plush or fancy- however if you are looking for a clean, well equiped and spacious place then this is great. The fully equipped kitchenette was useful especially for breakfasts and preparing snacks.
Its well located as well, 5 minute walk to all the amenities, excursion centres and eating places as well as just across the road from the hot pools.

Ann at the reception was wonderful! she was very helpful and helped in arranging all our excursions. We almost missed out on the helicopter glacier site seeing coz of the rain- but she helped re-schedule and got us on an alternate the next day.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We planned to stay here for 2 nights in January and ended up staying for 4 thanks to the wonderful owners/managers who made every aspect of our stay brilliant.

Unfortunately while we were here I got quite ill and the owners did everything they could for me - calling around doctor surgeries to get me an appointment, putting a DVD player in our room so I could watch some TV while I got better (most rooms have DVD players but they kindly put one in our room which didn't) and just being incredibly friendly and checking on me whenever they saw me.

When I was better, they were really helpful about sorting out all the activities we wanted to do (including finding local guides) and offered to take my boyfriend out fishing on their boat one afternoon. They were also really flexible when we wanted to extend our stay.

Aside from the amazing service, the rooms were really smartly done and had everything we needed - in a month of self-catering accommodation in NZ this was one of the best appointed kitchens we found, in spite of the small size. The motel also has free wifi, a DVD library and free parking.

Whilst it wasn't the cheapest place we stayed, unfortunately that seemed to be pretty common in Franz Josef and for the service we received it still seemed well worth it. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Property: 58 On Cron Motel
Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing