We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem..New and cool!”
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Very trendy rooms, kitchenette & amenities.

Spacious and modern.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apbanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for 58 On Cron Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2011

Great place to stay. It was very clean and modern. The owners were not only very nice, but very helpful too. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 285Atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

These self-contained accommodation units are just a couple of minutes’ walk from the centre of Franz Josef. On arrival, we checked-in and were given a useful map of the area and a comprehensive briefing on things to do in the area. We were then shown to Unit 1 in the complex. Entrance to each unit is via sliding glass doors to the front. Our unit had both a double and a single bed, flatscreen TV and DVD player and a dining table with 3 chairs. A selection of DVDs were available to borrow from reception to pass any down-time. The kitchenette was well-equipped with hob and microwave, while the bathroom had a good walk-in shower, clean towels and toiletries. Overall, the unit was very clean and presentable throughout. I bought a $10 wifi package which lasted well. We also did some washing in the laundry which operated with $2 coins.

The food store / supermarket is just 5 minutes’ walk away so no issue getting provisions. There are a number of restaurants nearby, the nearest being a reasonable Indian takeaway.

I fully recommend this accommodation and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warrior151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We stayed in mid-November for one night based on the reviews on tripadvisor, great location which is quiet, the room was very clean and well laid out with a comfortable bed, the staff were very friendly and helpful, so overall can't think of anything negative.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

the title says it all. it was exactly what we were looking for in a one night stay over.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_Brennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

The 58 on Cron was a lovely place to stay - quiet, modern, and well-equipped. The bathroom was great, including the excellent shower! The owners were helpful when we asked about local services; there is also a fat, friendly cat that wanders around in the morning.
Only two minor negatives: they really seem to push the hot pools across the road; we opted to skip them (they are just heated pools, not geothermal springs - what's the appeal?). And the trash can in the bathroom was small - laughably small, only about 6 inches tall. I put an empty toilet paper roller in it and it was basically full.
Overall, I would recommend the motel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlowens75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Definately would return. This accommodation has it's own cooking area which is very convenient if you want to dine in and is well equiped.
Bathroom is modern and quite new.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend this accommodation to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovagoodstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
251 reviews
2.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £74 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing