We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Great choice for a short stay. good location and very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ban1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    156
    64
    12
    5
See reviews for
51
233
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed here a last month, as with all Bella Vistas it was modern and clean with no surprises. Host was very friendly and gave us cables internet for the night. Very central location 1 minute walk from pubs/restaurants.
Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geewiz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Part of a chain and all the hotels we saw have a very similar design. The room was small and on the ground floor with rails etc for disabled guests. We could park right outside the door but some rooms were upstairs. The staff were friendly and gave us fresh milk on checking in. The room was generally clean but the bed cover had some really bad stains which didn’t impress too much. The kitchen area was very badly laid out as there was no room for both the kettle and toaster unless you used the desk at the other end of the room. It was equipped with a microwave, and a hotplate which was kept in the cupboard and plugged in. Kitchen is ok for breakfast and snacks but not great for cooking a meal. There is no aircon so could get hot in summer. Shower curtain could have been a bit longer to stop the water going all over the bathroom floor. Ok for a night but not much longer and not as good value as some of the independent motels we used.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We arrived later than expected, about 7.45pm, after a long day travelling for an overnight stay, given a warm welcome and shown to our compact but clean, bright and basic unit. Double bed, 2 chairs, flat screen t.v. and dvd player. Kettle (tea/coffee/sugar etc), toaster, fridge and hairdryer. Heating and air-con. Only downside was no sink and had to wash up in basin in shower room. This was the second Bella Vista motel on our South Island tour that we'd booked before leaving UK, having already stayed in Te Anau we were not surprised to find the units almost identical. Dinner at Alice Mays restaurant which was just next door.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Nice and clean. Internet, had to ask for a cable with no problem. Also umbrellas there for free use. Great spot , close to all restaurants, gift shops etc...
Very warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethelakes038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

After 15+ hours of air travel, 7+ hours of driving, and the trial of learning how to drive on the left side of the road, we pulled in to Bella Vista in Franz Josef.

Our hostess was genuinely glad to meet us, especially since she was also from Seattle, and indulged our habit of conversation and our silly questions (such as "How do we make the lights go on?"). She recommended the next-door restaurant - a good recommendation - and when I left my credit card there she made calls and, in the end, mailed it ahead of us to get it back to me. This is superior service.

The room was perfectly adequate: comfortable, equipped with the television anyone coming away from 22+ hours of travel needs to shut off the mind, and convenient to our car. They even had DVD players and DVDs to borrow in the office!

It was easy to find from the highway, and easy to find food by walking that night and by driving the next morning. Gas was also obvious. They had maps to help us get around, and no shortage of good advice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PASchaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Good stopping place for one night, small room barely adequate, chain motel. Parking spaces pretty cramped. Nice location for short walk to dining areas.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Property: Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing