We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small room , good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were in a mountain view room and still felt it was very small ! Quite expensive for what it is and not as good value as other motels on our RWC trip.
Short stroll to town and the various booking offices for the tourist trips.
If only a short trip then rooms OK but would not have liked to stay longer.
For some reason the people next door kept trying to come through the connecting door which was a bit disconcerting !!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigeckscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

Good nighty rate. Our newley furnished room was very comfortable. The new carpet felt great under foot! The room was very clean. We liked the good range of free DVD's available. The guest laundry was a blessing. Sharon, was very helpfull with good local maps and she helped us with booking us a heli flight and our next nights accommodatin at Te Anau. We totally recomend this central Franz Josef Glacier motel. Be sure to take a dip in the Glacier Hot pools, (open till 10pm!) and visit the Kiwi both are just 2 mins walk from the Bella Vista.

Room Tip: The Landing bar on the main street does large feeds. The 20 min heli ride over the glaciers include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Having stayed in compact studios at other Bella Vistas, we decided to upgrade to the Mountain View studio, and were happy that we did. The view of the mountains was nice, and the room was spacious. Our only complaint is that construction work began on the unit below ours at about 7am, which was a bit frustrating.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

we have been at your motel in the end of july,coming there after a long journey,full of rain and then we enjoyed your warm atmosphere and the nice appartement,perfect equipment,also in the bathroom,and our hosts were organizing so well for our next day,thank you -we had one of the best experiences the next daymincluding best weather....it is really very nice to stay in bella vista(also we have been there in Queenstown, Te Anau).Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heide1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My experience at Bella Vista Franz Josef was brilliant. We were upgraded to an upstairs Mountain View Studio that had everything we could have needed for our 3 night stay The suudio was serviced each day. The view from the deck chairs outside our room looked up towards the Franz Josef Glacier valley, very dramatic, beautiful snow-caped mountains. I think the bed and beading were new, the little touches like decent plunger coffee, cookies, soaps, make up remover and soft & warm towels, thanks to the heated towel rail, really made us feel like we were special. Adam, our friendly and knowledgeable host helped us plan our 3 days of bush walks, horse riding and a breathtaking heli flight that left us feeling on top of the world, well NZ anyway! Some of the motel services we gratefully used included, Laundry, Free DVD's (finally saw Boy) fast cabled broadband connection, free towels for the hot pools (they charge $5 to use the ones at the pools) and a stash of big rain umbrellas were on hand. My wife made use of the book swap and many info brochures and drive guides in reception. On check out Adam had a useful guide of all the bush walks, travel times, cafe's and rest stops between Franz and Lake Wanaka, where our next stop was.
If you are staying in Franz Josef I do totally recommend Bella Vista Franz Josef to any traveler. We were so impressed we stayed in Bella Vista Motels for the remainder of our NZ holiday and they were all pretty good!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of a three week trip through New Zealand. The hotel was basic, but provided for all of our needs. The have two stories and no elevators, but we had the first room off the office on the first floor. It also happened to be handicapped, though we didn’t request a handicapped accessible room. The large bathroom was a plus. It also had a small kitchenette with hot plates and a fridge. Franz Joseph is not very large so we parked our car and never used it again until it was time to leave, but if not doing a tour of the glacier you would need a car or one of the shuttle services to take you to the entrance point to hike to the glacier. It was also a short stroll to the Glacier Hot Pools. It was a pleasant stay with helpful service, but the hotel itself was nothing special. Just a clean and efficient stay.

Room Tip: two floors with no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bearetteCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Great choice for a short stay. good location and very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ban1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £57 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing