We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice welcome and within walking distance of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel is in a good location one street back from the main road close to everything, booking was easy staff are very friendly and welcoming. Booked a spa room which is what we got, but Spa was only a single spa which of course would suite some.
Over all we would stay here again, maybe not in a spa suite. Over all good value for money, clean and well maintained

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HamishQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

The hotel is within walking distance to shops and helicopter pad.

Carpark is a little small, maybe difficult to navigate.

Typical motel rooms, which are small by Australia New Zealand standard, can be quite tight if you have luggage; but room and bathroom are clean, sleep is good. Expected for a ski area.

Price is reasonable.

Note: There is no mobile phone coverage once you start driving up the mountain, for approximately 4 hours (this is with Telecom NZ). You will only get mobile phone coverage about 15 minutes before arriving in town. If you need to call the motel before their reception closes, or call anywhere else, call before you start your trip up the mountains.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azzsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed at the Bella Vista for our time in Franz Josef - rooms are a bit small but comfortable and clean. The Motel is well located and staff friendly and very helpful. There are nice views of the Glacier from the motel.

Good value for money. Would definately recommend it to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJIR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

If you opt to stay in a chain motel then you know that there will be a house style in all of them, so what's makes one different from another ? The attitude of the managers and staff is the answer and here Jill was great. Her demeanour was welcoming and she was very helpful in suggesting both a place to eat and pointing us towards the nearby hot pools, even giving us towels to take to avoid us having to hire them. The little things in the room were better too eg nice soaps; more TV channels; free wi-fi. Basically a functional, stop-over motel but because of the staff a very good one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while we checked out the Franz Josef glacier and surrounding region. The motel is one street back from the highway so there was very little street noise. We felt that the room was quite small compared to other places we had stayed in New Zealand but noted that we had booked a "compact studio" room though the booking agency. All Bella Vista motels in New Zealand are apparently built to the same design and our identical motel in Hokitika had a larger room for a lower price. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable so we would just need to be mindful of not booking a "compact room" in future.

Room Tip: Don't take a "Compact Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Check in was quick and staff was friendly, they guy didn't mind we showed up right before closing. The room was clean and comfortable. Not much of a view. Free parking. Right in town and a quick walk to restaurants. Can't ask for much more at this price range.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSassafrassquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed only two nights and wish we had a bit more time in Franz Josef, Bella Vista was clean and tidy with all facilities needed in room, only wifi was a bit annoying for two teenage daughters. We were lucky with position of our room it had great views and the location is good. Would stay again if we get chance for another South Island tour.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,294 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £62 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing