We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a Queen bed studio with mountain view. I chose this motel due to the kitchenette and free wifi. The former is cramped and thus difficult to cook in and the latter is significantly limited, which came as a surprise considering the price of the unit. The room, compared to other motels viewed, is really small and although the mountain view is nice, you also get a view of the car park.
.
Not bad overall but not the best value compared to other motels in the area.

Room Tip: The mountain view room isn't really worth the extra money paid. It's frequently cloudy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicscapade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    152
    63
    12
    5
See reviews for
50
230
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Spotless, very comfortable. Stayed last week. The manager is very nice & helpful. Feels more like you are a guest in a bed and breakfast than a chain hotel. Small tables outside to sit and visit & enjoy the view. Within very easy walking distance to restaurants & grocery store.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskaklondike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Bella Vista motels are a bit like premier Inn in England, basic with no cooking facilities, but very clean and simple. We had a gorgeous view of some mountains with snow on top of them, very nice in the morning and at sun set. I can't remember much of the area, apart from doing the walk to the bottom of the Franz Josef Glacier, which is worth it, but don't expect to see much-it's dirty because it's the bottom, if you want a real feel for the glacier you'd have to do a helicopter tour up the top and hike it (pricey sadlyl) But definately a cheap but nice place to stop over, very friendly reception. Make sure on your way here if your coming from Wanaka, you need a full tank of petrol as there arn't any gas stations on the way till you get to Franz Josef! The kitchen was limited but we managed to make spaghetti and meatballs, small but handy shop is nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frannie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I cannot rate the Bella Vista highly enough, I was very impressed to receive fresh milk on checking in, a good selection of hot drinks in the room, towels available from reception that we could take to the hot pools and free wifi.

The room which we had got at a very good rate on was very comfortable and warm.

The staff were excellent, particularly as we left something valuable behind in the room which they very kindly sent on to us. I would defintely recommend the Bella Vista to anyone staying in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Indeed Franz Josef is a small town with only one main street. The people there are friendly n warmth. We stayed at the Bella Vista Motel for 2 nights. When we arrived at the motel, the manager Adam was right outside to welcome us to his establishment. When we saw that we were traveling as a family he quickly without hesitation, reassigned us to a family suite. Now that is what I call impeccable service. The family suite was more than enough for a family of 4.with a fully stocked kitchenette.
When we were having problem getting from Franz Josef to Queenstown due to the rockslide. Adam worked with our travel agent n secured a charter plane to fly us over the Southern Alps so we can be on schedule with our tour of the Southern Island.
Thanks once again for your excellent service..... Indeed you made our vacation so much fun n enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiantraveler-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The weather was pretty terrible when we stayed here, but even so, it was a very nice and comfortable motel. The bathtub was a nice bonus as it gave us the chance to relax after a fairly stressful drive (night time, very windy road in very windy conditions with heavy rain, not fun). The bed was very soft and comfortable, and the motel was nice and close to various eateries.

The room was a little smaller than I had expected, but it was still large enough to have our suitcases on the floor without us tripping over them to get to the bathroom.

Was clean and well presented, and I would be happy to stay there again if ever travelling through the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine_8_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Franz Josef township itself is very small and unfortunately the glacier has receded a lot more than expected after four years (was there in Apr-May 2009). This time around, I visited with my mum and despite the nasty weather the day we were there, we spent two nights and eventually got to see the plateau between Fox and Franz Josef the morning we left the town.

That aside, Bella Vista accommodation was clean, affordable, quiet and the wifi access was great when forced to stay indoors because of the weather. There are a selection of DVDs in the lobby that we had access to and the staff were very helpful and friendly, even allowing us to borrow some umbrellas so we could at least do the glacier valley walk when the rain eased off a bit. The accommodation itself is very self contained but it isn't far to walk to the nearest pub or restaurant. The Wildlife Kiwi Experience is also just across the road and although the tickets were expensive it was great to see three gorgeous, rare little kiwis and learn about them too. There is also a nice Maori art/woodwork gallery at the edge of the town on the main road heading towards Fox Glacier.

Overall, Bella Vista gets the thumbs up from me and my mum and we hope to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Property: Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing