We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Well appointed”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Although the room was not huge it had so many facilities packed into it- especially for extra warmth-radiators, electric blankets, special heaters in the ceiling of the bathroom, heated towel rail etc. The bed was comfortable and the room was spotless. There was a nice, spacious shower too.
Located in the centre of Franz Josef, so convenient for shops and restaurants. We ate at an excellent restaurant called Monsoon, just along from the hotel. The whole experience here was hard to fault.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judijudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    156
    64
    12
    5
See reviews for
51
234
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our first Bella Vista motel and we weren't disappointed. We were booked into a Mountain View Studio room for two nights. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped for self catering plus there was free WiFi. The view was great and the motel is just a short walk from all the facilities of the township. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would be happy to recommend this motel to my friends looking for value for money. A tip for anyone staying at Bella Vista, if you are not from NZ and are unaware, the chain has a loyalty programme. You can sign up for free at your first stay and 5% of the cost of each stay is paid back onto your card for later use. We stayed in three Bella Vista motels during our trip around NZ and cashed in our points on the third making some savings in cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terlingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a nice little motel just a stone’s throw away from the main Franz Josef tourist area. From the tourist area, you can book your trips out of Franz Josef, have a little bite in the café and do some souvenir shopping. This congregation of shops is not a big area but you can certainly find most of your needs there.

The motel wasn’t difficult to find with the car and GPS. They have a large car park compound so parking isn’t a problem. However if you have big luggage and there are no available car park lots near your room, then the only problem will be dragging your luggage across the gravel car park to your room. There are also no lifts available as the motels are only on the ground floor and 2nd floor so you will have to carry your luggage up to the 2nd floor if you’re staying there.

If you intend to do your own cooking like we did, remember to book a room with cooking facilities. We booked the room without knowing and then when we reached, there was no cooking facilities available. In the end we had to pay more to upgrade our room with a kitchenette.

The rooms are very clean and the kitchenette is well equipped with utensils and crockery for you to cook if you want to. The room we got was very spacious and there was lots of space to walk around.

Overall 4 stars for a generally pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on ground floor for easy access. There are only 2 floors of rooms so the 2nd floor may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greasystains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed at the Bella Vista Motel for just one night but was very impressed. We had an upstairs apartment (2 bedrooms) and the staff helped us unpack the car and took our bags to our room. When checking out they saw us leaving and took our bags back downstairs for us. They always had a friendly hello and smile. The room was tidy, clean and the bed really comfortable. Lots of hot water for the shower. Great location, only a couple of minutes walk from the main street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teganyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at some pretty fantastic B&B's while in New Zealand. I don't want to say this motel was bad because it wasn't. It was clean and comfortable with a private bathroom which is all you really need. It's also walking distance to the main strip of town. It was just a little smaller than some of the other places we stayed at and lacking a bit of character. Plus for what you get, it was a little expensive. But you could do a lot worse so it's not a bad choice. Maybe take a look around first at some other options before settling here. If you're just here for a night to check out the glacier and the hot pools, then it's a decent place to stay. Nothing extraordinary though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scallywag81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have not stayed at a less welcoming place in all of New Zealand. Having spent a month there, the kiwis are very much warm and friendly, but this is the exception. It was a sad end to a fabulous month long holiday.

Having booked our room through the net, I was not sure if the room would accomodate my family of four (two young kids). And on the first day, upon arrival, we were told it is full and the room which we had reserved had not enough beds to accomodate us, but the staff helpfully tried to put in an extra bed for us.

However, the room was so tight, we had no space to sit and eat, even though there was a kitchenette, there were no tables nor chairs for dining. They did have one for the counter in front of the mirror. And even if the room was meant for three, there would be a lack of space even for two to eat together in the room.

Accidental inconveniences and irritations were many (the pyrex cookware exploded in the microwave oven wasting our dinner, the alarm clock going off under the bed - with no way to switch it off except waking to move the beds - before sunrise, placed there by the staff putting in the extra bed), which I would forgive but, I was really put off by the rude comment from the manager.

He had said he would have turned us away from his establishment because we had booked a room with a maximum occupancy of only three. Well, please extend me a little forgiveness then, its a mistake I made on the net, which can sometimes not be so clear.

He then went ahead to put charges onto our tab for the extra bed and shift blame to my wife for making a mistake with the pyrex cookware. No apologies about us missing our dinner. There were stickers in our room reminding us to switch off lights so as to be eco friendly (saving energy for the motel) but then where are the warnings then on the pyrex cookware? Please do not expect a guest to know everything. My missus cooked with pyrex before without having any incident. But the manager told her she was just "lucky". Or perhaps its motel glassware bought on a budget.

The staff turned surly and cold after the first night, probably from having to clean out the microwave which was all splattered with our dinner.

We then moved to a more spacious family room (not available on the first night), but it was still tight on space compared to others in NZ for the price.

Some strange choices for placing their items in this family room - the rubbish bin is by default in front of the entrance to the two single beds for the kids, half blocking the pathway, and the DVD player is so high up that I have to stretch overhead to place a disc in - very helpful then for parents who just want to let their kids watch a video so they can have some time to prepare dinner. How are kids supposed to reach up there? (see photo)

Room Tip: Get another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinl987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Unlike all the other Bella Vista motels we had used, this was dead small, expensive for what you get, the TV just had four channels including a movie channel that showed the same movie all day and all night. Cooking facilities were poor, cramped and there was nowhere to sit to eat except by dragging the outside furniture inside. Shame as we were impressed with all the other BV motels.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,182 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Property: Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing