We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Punga Grove Motel & Suites(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
112
163
70
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
163
70
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain view studiohot poolsfree towelsground floorwithin walking distancehot platefamily roomnew zealandshort strollthe main streetin townbed was comfortableone night stayguest laundrycomfortable stayrestaurants and shopssmall town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Although the room was not huge it had so many facilities packed into it- especially for extra warmth-radiators, electric blankets, special heaters in the ceiling of the bathroom, heated towel rail etc. The bed was comfortable and the room was spotless. There was a nice, spacious shower too.
Located in the centre of Franz Josef, so convenient for shops and restaurants. We ate at an excellent restaurant called Monsoon, just along from the hotel. The whole experience here was hard to fault.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judijudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our first Bella Vista motel and we weren't disappointed. We were booked into a Mountain View Studio room for two nights. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped for self catering plus there was free WiFi. The view was great and the motel is just a short walk from all the facilities of the township. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would be happy to recommend this motel to my friends looking for value for money. A tip for anyone staying at Bella Vista, if you are not from NZ and are unaware, the chain has a loyalty programme. You can sign up for free at your first stay and 5% of the cost of each stay is paid back onto your card for later use. We stayed in three Bella Vista motels during our trip around NZ and cashed in our points on the third making some savings in cost.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terlingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a nice little motel just a stone’s throw away from the main Franz Josef tourist area. From the tourist area, you can book your trips out of Franz Josef, have a little bite in the café and do some souvenir shopping. This congregation of shops is not a big area but you can certainly find most of your needs there.

The motel wasn’t difficult to find with the car and GPS. They have a large car park compound so parking isn’t a problem. However if you have big luggage and there are no available car park lots near your room, then the only problem will be dragging your luggage across the gravel car park to your room. There are also no lifts available as the motels are only on the ground floor and 2nd floor so you will have to carry your luggage up to the 2nd floor if you’re staying there.

If you intend to do your own cooking like we did, remember to book a room with cooking facilities. We booked the room without knowing and then when we reached, there was no cooking facilities available. In the end we had to pay more to upgrade our room with a kitchenette.

The rooms are very clean and the kitchenette is well equipped with utensils and crockery for you to cook if you want to. The room we got was very spacious and there was lots of space to walk around.

Overall 4 stars for a generally pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on ground floor for easy access. There are only 2 floors of rooms so the 2nd floor may not have much of a view anyway
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greasystains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed at the Bella Vista Motel for just one night but was very impressed. We had an upstairs apartment (2 bedrooms) and the staff helped us unpack the car and took our bags to our room. When checking out they saw us leaving and took our bags back downstairs for us. They always had a friendly hello and smile. The room was tidy, clean and the bed really comfortable. Lots of hot water for the shower. Great location, only a couple of minutes walk from the main street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teganyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at some pretty fantastic B&B's while in New Zealand. I don't want to say this motel was bad because it wasn't. It was clean and comfortable with a private bathroom which is all you really need. It's also walking distance to the main strip of town. It was just a little smaller than some of the other places we stayed at and lacking a bit of character. Plus for what you get, it was a little expensive. But you could do a lot worse so it's not a bad choice. Maybe take a look around first at some other options before settling here. If you're just here for a night to check out the glacier and the hot pools, then it's a decent place to stay. Nothing extraordinary though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scallywag81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews