We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a one night stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Perfect for a reasonably priced one night stay. Very clean compact room. The only minus was one sink in the bathroom which doubled up as a kitchen sink. Only one bedside cabinet so had to use chair.Free wifi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alysonBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Great staff. We had a flat tyre and were given help with a pump and the address of a local mechanic who fixed the tyre with a minimum of fuss. And the accommodation suited the need with hot showers and a queen sized bed. A big plus was that the hotel was off the main road so there was no road noise. All good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BitterHops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here on a tour around the South Island. The motel had sufficient parking and was conveniently located within walking distance from hot pools & restaurants. The actual glaciers are a bit further away from the town but that's not a problem as I assume most people staying here will come by car or organised tour.
From memory the room was clean and tidy and we got some DVDs from the kind receptionist to watch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Although the room was not huge it had so many facilities packed into it- especially for extra warmth-radiators, electric blankets, special heaters in the ceiling of the bathroom, heated towel rail etc. The bed was comfortable and the room was spotless. There was a nice, spacious shower too.
Located in the centre of Franz Josef, so convenient for shops and restaurants. We ate at an excellent restaurant called Monsoon, just along from the hotel. The whole experience here was hard to fault.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judijudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our first Bella Vista motel and we weren't disappointed. We were booked into a Mountain View Studio room for two nights. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped for self catering plus there was free WiFi. The view was great and the motel is just a short walk from all the facilities of the township. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would be happy to recommend this motel to my friends looking for value for money. A tip for anyone staying at Bella Vista, if you are not from NZ and are unaware, the chain has a loyalty programme. You can sign up for free at your first stay and 5% of the cost of each stay is paid back onto your card for later use. We stayed in three Bella Vista motels during our trip around NZ and cashed in our points on the third making some savings in cost.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terlingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a nice little motel just a stone’s throw away from the main Franz Josef tourist area. From the tourist area, you can book your trips out of Franz Josef, have a little bite in the café and do some souvenir shopping. This congregation of shops is not a big area but you can certainly find most of your needs there.

The motel wasn’t difficult to find with the car and GPS. They have a large car park compound so parking isn’t a problem. However if you have big luggage and there are no available car park lots near your room, then the only problem will be dragging your luggage across the gravel car park to your room. There are also no lifts available as the motels are only on the ground floor and 2nd floor so you will have to carry your luggage up to the 2nd floor if you’re staying there.

If you intend to do your own cooking like we did, remember to book a room with cooking facilities. We booked the room without knowing and then when we reached, there was no cooking facilities available. In the end we had to pay more to upgrade our room with a kitchenette.

The rooms are very clean and the kitchenette is well equipped with utensils and crockery for you to cook if you want to. The room we got was very spacious and there was lots of space to walk around.

Overall 4 stars for a generally pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on ground floor for easy access. There are only 2 floors of rooms so the 2nd floor may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greasystains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed at the Bella Vista Motel for just one night but was very impressed. We had an upstairs apartment (2 bedrooms) and the staff helped us unpack the car and took our bags to our room. When checking out they saw us leaving and took our bags back downstairs for us. They always had a friendly hello and smile. The room was tidy, clean and the bed really comfortable. Lots of hot water for the shower. Great location, only a couple of minutes walk from the main street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teganyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,276 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: £64 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing