We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vale for the money and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
CSquaredC2
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good vale for the money and location.”
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Franz Joseph is a small town, but this motel is convenient, a good value and clean. The staff was excellent, helping me plan my stay. I ended up staying a little longer in Franz Joseph than I planned. Within walking distance of all the tour operators and restaraunts, it's convenient to get around. The rooms feature a refrigerator (some have a microwave) and internet access for $10NZ/night. The room also features a bathroom heater, small heater for the room, and electric blankets. The property also has a laundry and a small grocery store is a short walk away.

My only complaint would be with the power supply. The concept makes sense, but you have to put your key in a slot in order to engage the power. Thi is done so people don't leave the lights or TV on when they leave. Unfortunately, it also impacts the heating units. So everytime you step out and leave the room, you return to a chilly room. Overall, a small detail.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSquaredC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    156
    64
    12
    5
See reviews for
51
233
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

All the bella vista motels are identical so unsurprisingly the one in franz was absolutely fine for a couple of nights while we did a heli hike on the glacier! As a result of staying here we also stayed in a few other bella vistas because you know what you are getting- a clean room, helpful staff, central location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Just dont stay at this place. Staff was really unhelpful, and most of the room ammenities were not working. Hope you have better luck than we did by choosing somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulohm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

A very average hotel in a generally below average tourist trap. The hotel is well placed for touring the immediate area, but that is no recommendation for this, or any other hotel in the Franz Joseph area.

Prior to checking in here, we tried a couple of other places. Fortunately we asked guests if they would recommend the hotels they were staying at. All said a very cautious, not really.

With that in mind, I would say that this hotel is probably at a sligtly better standard than the average hotel for the area.

If any of the Franz Joseph hotels been anywhere but at the Franz Joseph area/toursit trap, we would not have stayed at any of them!

Perhaps our expectations were too high, but New Zealand tourist board really should do something about this very down market tourist spot.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avery-Little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

For the purposes of my 2 night stay at Franz Josef, the Bella Vista did quite well. The room was very clean, had a table with 2 chairs as well as a kitchenette. The staff person I dealt with when I was there (Cat) was extremely helpful and friendly. The location is on the back street in FJ which is probably better as it is quieter. The motel is very close to eateries. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilivetotravel_Raul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This self contained motel is first class. It may be the typical featureless modern structure but it is very clean, airy, and roomy with a great bed. As Franz can get a bit chilly in the winter it is also very warm. The view is stunning. If you had one of the upstairs rooms facing south it would even be great from inside.

The propieter is very helpful and knowlegable. You can book a lot of the local activities from the motel. It is about 5 minutes from the excellent resturants in the centre of the village if you don't wish to use the excellent facilities.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Having travelled to New Zealand's west coast with my partner and 3 children aged 13,11 and 10, value for money was always going to be a priority on this holiday.

After a long drive, Bella Vista Franz Josef was bliss to arrive at. Spacious family accommodation that far exceeded our expectations. Not to mention the amazing service that was provided by Adam - friendly, helpful, and again far in excess of what we were expecting. It made travelling with 3 kids so much easier.

I can highly recommend Bella Vista Franz Josef to any traveller and would have no hesitation in staying at this fantastic motel again on future travels.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fireflye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#5 of 13 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Property: Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing