We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franz Josef Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I had a private room for 1 night which was comfortable, clean and quiet. The shared shower rooms were also very clean and well kept.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgable.

There is a large well equipped kitchen and an excellent comfy lounge area. There is no WiFi, but there are 3 PC's to use free of charge.

Location is on the back road of the small Franz Josef village, so away from the main highway. There is limited off road parking available, but there is no issue parking out on the road either. Everything in FJ is close as it is so small, but there are still ample choices for eating out as well as there being a decent small supermarket.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leemwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We had a twin bed with ensuite in April time, more like a hotel than a hostel, with videos to choose from (yes vcr videos) smd DVDs for the main room. Book swap and laundry facilities, and a reasonably equipped kitchen. Beds were comfy and the place was kept very clean, though this was probably easier at the time of year we went.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToothAndLies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

It wasn't anything special.
the staff were friendly and helpful.
the kitchen was big enough and luckily there were more than one sinks.
they had a good selection of dvds and videos and a big enough area to watch them in,
they also have a book exchange
and it was clean. the showers and kitchen were spotless.
the internet was awful though it wouldn't load,
and there were only 3 compputers and no wifi you could use.
but if you dont care about that.
and you couldn't smoke anywhere.
the rooms were packed when i went in march,
so book early if you're going around that time.
they were big enough though which is a perk.
The rooms are very big.
I had a pleasant time

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollieday91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 days in August and booked a double room. All the double rooms are in the second building so we had a whole kitchen and living room to ourselves as everyone else was in the main building! We also arrived late after breaking down on route but the live in owner waited up for us to male sure we got in ok.

Franz is quite small so the location is good to walk to everything from and it's round the corner from the glacier experience office. We couldn't have asked for much more for the price!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt-Emi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The room was comfortable with nice kitchen . The bathrooms were neat and well maintained too. The only problem was free wifi which was not available in the room .However that was not a major concern with the computers available in the ground floor . Well located and in 2 mins walk you get to the centre of the town ! . The manager was very helpful too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RohiniNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Very caretaking manager, many useful details (huge piles of fresh towels in the clean kitchen), good, calm site just a few steps off the main street; room was ok, bathroom almost new & clean - what else do you expect from a backpacker?
The only disadvantage for fb-addicts: no free wifi, just two or three computers, always blocked, fee p. hr., people look into your screen... - go to full of beans - cafe on main street - there you get, what you need in terms of wifi

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansjoerg_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and everything was fine. I had a double room with a shared bathroom and it was all OK, but I didn't get the TV etc in the room that others have described. Pleasant communal area/TV room and good kitchen. Staff were friendly and helpful. Cafes, bars, shops, walk centre etc all close by, but everything is close in this small town. Only downside is no wifi - they advertise that they have free internet but that's on 2 desktop computers in a small room. If you want wifi you have to go to a cafe, but that wasn't really a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,480 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
399 reviews
9.8 mi away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef Montrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Montrose

Address: 9 Cron Street | West Coast, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: £25 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franz Josef Montrose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge & Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Franz Josef Montrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montrose Backpackers Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing