We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franz Josef Montrose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franz Josef Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a double room. Nothing wrong, nothing special. Hard to comment on location at such a small place as Franz Josef, but it was off the main road, so no traffic noise. Plenty of street parking outside. The owner was very helpful, and happily phoned ahead for us for a future booking. Spacious common areas, well equipped.


Good:
communal computers with FREE INTERNET


Not so good:
Long waits for the only nearby toilet in the morning while people took extended showers (toilet and shower in same room)

(not hostel's fault) only hostel in New Zealand where our stored food was ripped-off by someone

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fbdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    93
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
97
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We ere given a map with lots of information on arrival. The rooms were basic just a bed. Shared bathroom and toilet along the corridor. If you do not have a towel you can hire one for 2.00$, plus soap and shower gel for 50 cents. There is a communal kitchen with every kitchen item to use.
You are walking distance into the town, not a lot to chose from, but food is good. Very close for walking to the glaciers etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Friendly staff, clean common areas.

We booked a private room with shared facilities. The room was clean, but smelt a little musty.

The facilities were great. There was lots of kitchen space, stoves, sinks and bench-tops. There were lots of crockery and cutlery. And tea towels. If you have been in a hostel situation you will know that you are asked to clean up after yourself in the kitchen and dry the dishes, but the tea towels are always damp or wet. Not at Montrose! You get a fresh tea towel for your dishes that get washed and dried. Fabulous!

I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodbLubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed at montrose for 3 nights, even when he was clearly very ill he still went out of his way to give the best service, always going out of his way to come and chat to see if we where enjoying our stay and helping with our trip to Fox Glacier. The hostel was nice and clean, with large communal eating/lounge area. The double room we stayed in was nice and clean the only thing we could have asked for was the heating to be on for a little bit longer. All in all the great service makes up for any shortcomings, great stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

it was nice, and friendly. lots of young people. nice shearing kitchen-two kitchens-and leaving room. close to the Glacier , just in the heart of town. close to the shop and information center. it wasn't quiet, but who cares.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for 1 night in a double room with shared bathroom.

The location of this hostal is good, in close proximity to the supermarket.

The room we stayed in was basic, a comfy bed. The bathroom was small but clean and with hot showers.

There were 2 kitchens with anything you need to self cater. The hostal had 2 computers which were a little old but ok to back up photos or access internet.

The main living space was huge but hadn´t much character, there was a tv and a person who was living at the hostal was watching movies in her PJ´s so I felt a little like I was intruding.

A big plus point was the owner, very knowledgeable and advised us on the weather and how to get the best out of our time at the Glaciars. He was 100% right as well!!

Likes:

The owner
Kitchen facilities

Dislikes/Improvement

There was no character to the place
Felt like I was encroaching on someone elses living space a bit
The whole place needed a bit of TLC

Saying that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I really like this place. Clean and well located. Staff was ultra friendly and helpful. The property is well maintained and rather huge. Kitchen is great with oven and everything you can think of or need. There is a huge TV where everyone could watch movies. No Wifi which was a little sad as our 3G didnt work in Franz Josef. 3 Communal computers but a bit hard to access them. Really nice place. I would recommend this place definitely. You can head over to the bars or cafe for free WIFI

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngDingJiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
9.8 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef Montrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Montrose

Property: Franz Josef Montrose
Address: 9 Cron Street | West Coast, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franz Josef Montrose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge & Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Franz Josef Montrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montrose Backpackers Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing