We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly and welcoming!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franz Josef Montrose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franz Josef Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and welcoming!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

I would highly recommend staying at the Montrose. The staff is extremely friendly, suggesting hikes and activities to do. In addition, Ray, (the owner?) is extremely helpful and knowledgable...even carrying my backpack up to my room!!! The Montrose is extremely clean and the free tea and coffee and free internet is a nice bonus. Overall, a comfy, walcoming and friendly environment!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieMH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    93
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
97
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

Montrose Backpackers gets a bad rap because it is not mentioned in the Phony Planet guide, but don't let that scare you away. I have used those books for years and they generally do give you an good idea of what's available -- the downside is that everyone else has one too, so you get heaps of people in the same places often. Montrose is a HUGE hostel. Ask for a room in the new building if you're visiting in summer (it is often closed during the slower (and colder) winter months. Even if you end up in the main older building, the kitchen next door in the new wing is by far the best, so head over there to cook up your meals. One of the best things about this place is that it is right next door to the Blue Ice Bar, which is a great place to have a few drinks and meet the locals. It's also open later than the other bars in town. The staff at Montrose are the best. When I stayed there Gabby was managing and Chucky was working reception... very friendly and helpful. And super clean.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

This is a really cosy and comfortable hostel centrally located in the beautiful township of Franz Josef, close to all amenities. Upon arrival the customer service from the male owner was exceptional, and this was maintained throughout our stay. The vibe of the hostel was generally chilled and cosy and my friend and I really enjoyed it, particularly after a hard day's hiking!

Some nice facilities, including a little bbq and spa, plus a big tv surrounded by sofas and bean bags added to the ambience of the place, and there is a cute little attic bar and restaurant seconds away. The kitchens were mercilessly maintained by the male owner so were always clean, albeit a little under equipped. The rooms themselves (we stayed in a 6 person dorm) were pretty shoddy to be honest, really old carpets and hideously creaky beds, but at the end of the day you get what you pay for ( there's nothing worse than someone who pays $24 for a night's rest and whiges about EVERYTHING!), and we generally enjoyed the atmosophere and fellow guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muirmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2009

We stayed in Montrose Backpackers one night in early March 09, after we'd been kept in Franz Josef Township a lot later than we intended. Both the YHA and Glo Worm Backpackers, as recommended in Lonely Planet, had no doubles available, so we phoned a few local places, and found that Montrose did.

The place is on Cron Street, which is basically the street parallel to the main road in Franz Josef where the highway runs, and all the tourist places are; anything not on the main drag, and main road, is on Cron Street, including the YHA and Glo Worm.

Basically, Montrose is fine. The guy on duty on arrival was efficient but not friendly, and reminded me very much of an ex RSM (Regimental Sergeant Major) - basically someone you wouldn't want to cross. He went through the intro routine, that included a surprising amount of useful info that left us with no questions needing to be asked; location of bars, supermarkets, walks, times for everything, etc. etc. He also told us of everything that was free - CD writing, 2 Internet terminals, Tea and Coffee (basic stuff), and DVD/VHS/Book rental; also torches for use at the Gloworm trails. It sounded surprisingly good. Towels were $2 rental.

We had a basic but clean room - a wierd kind of double+single bunk (we were a couple). Also, strangely, there were no power points in the room, so I had to plug into the wall outside, and run the cable under the door - I didn't leave it overnight in case someone took my adapter. The guy next door had a similar issue. The showers varied, but were fine, and hot enough. And the bed was comfortable, although the pillows lumpy. All in all, OK value for $64 for a double.

There were around 25 rooms in our block (we were at the back of the main building), and another 15-20 next door. We had reasonable kitchen space for everyone, and kettles, cookers, etc. more or less worked OK. The three washers and three dryers taking $2 coins weren't too busy either, although there was no real drying space. There was a big rear-projection TV in the lounge, but with all the various people around busy being anonymous, you'd feel uncomfortable changing channel.

One weird thing was the sauna - it, and the BBQ, shared a small outhouse out front, by the car park. If you fancy traipsing out the front of the building, and 15m across the car park into a small enclosed sauna, then great. I don't think many people would.

The lady on duty the next morning was much although more friendly than the guy the night before, as she charged around cleaning the rooms and tending to various needs and requests. If we had met her the night before, I think we would have had a more positive impression.

As it is - this is a standard, clean enough, inexpensive enough, efficient enough hostel - effort has been made to tick various boxes, but it doesn't 'feel' welcoming. Overall no great bonuses, and no great drawbacks.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin and all over
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2007

Montrose is right in the centre of the small town of Franz Josef close to all the local amenities and booking offices. I stayed in a double room which had a lovely ensuite and television and dvd/VCD player. A wide range of DVD's and VCD's were available to view for free from reception. Wireless internet was available. Staff were really friendly and a fountain of knowledge. One of the best hostels I stayed in New Zealand and close to a decent bar/restaurant Blue Ice.

Note the week I was there, there was a lot of rain and the heli ride was cancelled almost every day adn the treks cancelled a couple of days. As this location is difficult to get to I think you should check out the weather forecasts before making final arrangements to visit here. But if you visit then i recommend you stay at Montrose Backpackers.

  • Liked — Very friendly staff with good amenities
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheIrishFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#2 of 12 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef Montrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Montrose

Property: Franz Josef Montrose
Address: 9 Cron Street | West Coast, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franz Josef Montrose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge & Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Franz Josef Montrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montrose Backpackers Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing