We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely owner, far too few toilets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Franz Josef Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely owner, far too few toilets”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

First of all; what really makes this place good is the lovely owner (?) who is so helpful, friendly and nice. Exellent service from him all the time!

The hostel is all right to stay in for a couple of nights. I can imagine longer would be a bit difficult. The place is quite big, which doesn't make it very cosy at all. It's not very well planned: there is one tiny kitchen in what's almost a hall way, and then there is a bigger on within the Tv lounge. It's not very smart to have those connected. It gets quite crowded and messy, but it works all right.

The biggest problem with the place is that there is far too few toilets/showers. Our room was located just beside on of them, and from 8.00 PM to 2.00 AM it was occupied constantly! People were watching in the hall way so they could slip in before someone else took it. If you want to take a shower, do so during the day, because in the morning or evening you can forget it!

The location is good, but Franz Josef is so small that everything thats in the village has a good location. It is just behind the "night club", so if you have a room on that side, you can count on hearing that pretty well at night.

Our room, a double was ok, clean and nice. However, I really missed something to put or hang things on. The only thing in the room, except for the bed, was a plastic chair.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    102
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
111
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed at the Montrose for two nights while travelling down the West Coast of the South Island, NZ.
We arrived in very wet weather which stayed with us for most of the time.
We chose the double with en suite room. While clean and rather new, the en suite was not big enough to swing a cat in.
The mattress, while a double, was one of those that if you sat on one side the other side lifted! There was nowhere to hang clothes. Still it was clean. The TV had only one channel but you do not go to Franz Josef to watch TV.
The good thing about a backpackers is the ready proximity of the kitchens which allowed you to cook you own food from the local 4 Square which had a good enough range of foods for us to make chilli con carne one night. There is plenty of space to sit and eat your meal. The communal fridges are for guest users as well.
There are 2 free internet stations but they were always in use so we picked up a hotspot for a minimal cost per hour. However, the connection was very slow as it depends on the weather.The Montrose is handy to a petrol station, bookshop, restaurants, supermarket and many gift and souvenir shops as well as tourism shops.
There is a communal laundry with dry and washing machine taking NZ$3.00 in coins each and washing powder can be obtained from reception for $1 a sache.

Franz Josef glacier is down the road and the Fox glacier is 27 km. South. Many tours can be booked from the Montrose and other tourism shops in the town.
We saw other couples using the Montrose and it is OK if you are not interested in frills and are staying a few days in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viscountess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I was traveling with a friend and we stayed for 1 night on the way further south and to see the glaciers. The place was ok, nice and clean. We stayed in a twin room which was comfortable.
THere are computers with free internet (but most of the time you will have to wait a little). Not much to see in the village. A book shop is close by.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed here for one night in September after hiking Franz Josef Glacier. We thought this hostel was much better than chateau franz josef across the road. It was cheaper, had nicer staff, nice atmosphere with a large tv room, great bonus was the FREE INTERNET on 2 computers, all facilities were fine. They also had central heating on!Besides the hostel we would also recommend doing the Hot Pools down the road (If you have hiked franz josef glacier) it was cheap and so relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandybenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Can't say this place really sucks but it did for me. They have this room (I think the number is 23) which had one door no windows nor ventilation fitting 4 people. This resuled in a night with headache and stink. When I complaned about it the following morning the recepionist was quite offensive and kept repeating nothing could be done about it. I would recommend to avoid this hostel until they close this STINKING, LACK OF OXYGEN DEATHTRAP (rememer: one foor only).

I doubt whether this hostel conforms to new zealand safety standards.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We booked at Montrose after trying most other places and finding them fully booked. We booked a double room with ensuite - upon confirming our reservation date the amount to be paid was also confirmed. Upon arrival we were told a different price (much higher) and when we argued we were told that we had misunderstood - which was not the case. The girl at the reception was also very rude and harsh (we also saw this when she talked to other guests so we understand this is the rule and not the exception) Knowing that all the other places were booked for the night and having booked a glacier trip for the next day we had no other option then to pay the exuberant price. Montrose is a very large backpacker and it is like a bus station filled with people all the time.
Upon entering the building you were hit with bad odors - a combination of smelly cleaning detergents and dampness.
The room itself was fine - although the sheets on the bed were dirty. The room had an ensuite and TV with local public channels. Our toilet had a plumbing problem and the water would not stop running loudly - we asked for another room but the answer was that they are full. We were told that someone would come and fix it - no one did.
The kitchens are big enough and most appliances work. The kitchen we were cooking in ran out of salt - when we asked a girl from the staff if she could get some more she told us she was busy and it would be there by tomorrow (it was 4pm).
At Montrose they forget that the guests are paying customers - there are notices hung up with threats that if you do not keep in line with the policy you will lose your key deposit and also that you are being watched and monitored by cameras in the public areas (although I do agree that everyone needs to clean up after themselves and respect the policies of the place there are other ways of saying this and getting it done).
Montrose advertise that they provide free internet - they provide 2 pcs with internet which are free for use by guests - they do not have wifi services for sale or other internet solutions. As the place is so big the two computers are always occupied and as there is no time limit of use per guest, getting to one takes hours (there are usually people sitting and waiting in line for this). Also, during our stay one computer had a malfunction and so was temporarily out of use.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ilelstka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Our twin room was spacious, but smelt funny - possibly like damp - and we couldn't hang anything on the pegs on the inside of the door because of the terrible condensation that built up on the door overnight and left it soaking wet. We had to go outside to get to the room (though I think that's an exception and most other rooms are in the main building) which made trips to the bathroom quite irritating.

The bathrooms were decent, but there weren't really enough of them for a hostel of that size.

The kitchen was clean but again could've been bigger bearing in mind how many people needed to use it.

The TV room was nice and spacious and there was a very good dvd library at reception.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara_k_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Franz Josef
YHA Franz Josef
#5 of 12 in Franz Josef
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef Montrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Montrose

Property: Franz Josef Montrose
Address: 9 Cron Street | West Coast, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franz Josef Montrose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge & Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Franz Josef Montrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montrose Backpackers Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing