We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Ribbonwood Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ribbonwood Retreat
Ranked #1 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Our hosts, Julie and Joe, were most hospitable, friendly, chatty and helpful. A great place to stay for all activities in Franz Josef and surrounding areas. Our room was comfortable with excellent en suite facilities. A lovely breakfast with home baked bread and great pancakes. A great shame that we were only there for one night but so pleased we booked in time because the town was full.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed at Ribbonwood Retreat for one night in February, and wished we had had more time to extend.

It is a beautiful location and our room was magnificent, and spotlessly clean. Nice quiet peaceful nights sleep.

Jo and Julie greeted us with afternoon tea and filled us in on all the local highlights. Jo has a degree in botany and provided us with a good rundown of the plants and trees on the property.

Breakfast was homemade from the garden - delicious crepes, local free range eggs, crispy bacon and freshly baked bread..

Free wifi was also most appreciated.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bailey1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Our family of four stayed at Ribbonwood Retreat for our Franz Josef visit. The location of the B&B was just outside of town but as we had a car, it was totally fine and was in fact very quiet and serene. The rooms comfortably accomodated all of us -large, clean and spacious with a balcony -- we stayed in the house and not in the separate cottage. Jo and Julie were very patient and lovely with our two daughters -- they made different breakfasts for each girl, sent us off in the morning with a snack and spent a lot of time answering their questions. We got great advice from them -- they helped us book our glacier tour, gave us restaurant recommendations and we went on a wonderful trek that we would never have known about if we hadn't been staying with "locals". Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Jo and Julie both made our stay at Franz Josepf very special. They were very extreamly helpful in arranging our activities in the area and were a wealth if information about the region. The accomodations were bright and luxurious and yet very warm and comfortable. We felt quite at home right away and look forward to visiting again. W
e would recommend this excellent bed and breakfast to anyone looking to experience true Kiwi hospitality.
Marcus & Marion, Vashon Island, USA

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This B&Bis in a perfect location just outside Franz Josef. The situation is so peaceful and relaxing. The en suite room and bathroom were large, immaculate and totally private. Jo made an excellent breakfast and was a gracious host providing great local knowledge, particularly regarding the environment and wild life.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We arrived happy to find we had both nights in the secluded cottage. This was our 20th anniversary trip, so we wanted somewhere to escape. Ribbonwood was that place. It was clean, and I mean very clean. I loved it. Lots of little homemade goodies. We didn't have room for all the treats. Breakfast-- delicious! They give you options. Don't leave hungry. They are so kind and you merely need to ask for more or something different. Very approachable. I enjoyed the jams Julie makes, and hubby enjoyed the homemade bread. The fruit crepes were so good. The mornings we planned time to have a leisurely breakfast so we could chat a little. They let us pick our breakfast time a little later since we were tired from travelling. This couple is so kind and helpful. Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate so we missed the glacier hike. They helped us find other things to do, and where to have dinner. They even gave us ideas for our drive the next day. Seriously, they know this island well. The best part, the cottage--- it is new and brilliant! Wooden and very nicely crafted. I loved the seclusion and peace. We sat on the back porch listening to birds and having wine. Plenty of hot water. Plenty of space. Comfortable. Clean. Wifi worked great. Yes, wifi included! A tiny fridge for necessities and they left snacks and milk for our coffee. Taking our shoes off was never an issue. That's my home policy as well. I detest mud tracked in my carpet. Its also far enough out of town to be very quiet. A short drive to town. I did not feel hovered over, but my needs met. It was a truly pleasant stay. I recommend this B & B, and splurge on the cottage. It sleeps up to 3.

Room Tip: Secluded cottage if you want some romance or more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tweex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I am an avid user of tripadvisor though have never written a review before. However this time I will because of the wonderful experience my family and I had staying at Ribbonwood.
The cottage has a picture window out onto the glacier mountains - absolutely stunning as was the surroundings of native trees in the gardens and forests of the park. We had such a beaut service from our hosts to boot. Their knowledge and stories make the experience of staying in the area richer. Food was delicious. If we ever get back to this part of the world we would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alva t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.5 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.6 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribbonwood Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribbonwood Retreat

Address: 26 Greens Road, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range: £130 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribbonwood Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ribbonwood B & B - a haven for nature lovers. Sleep deeply, breathing fresh clean air! Hosts Jonathan, a wildlife ranger and Julie, international school teacher are experts on history and ecology of the glacier region. We are passionate hikers and bird watchers who can show you the best places to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Ribbonwood Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing