We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ribbonwood Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Franz Josef(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
260
22
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
22
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseb bflora and faunafruit crepeswonderful hostsnew zealanddelicious homemadehome grownmain homeno shoes policyown gardenbreakfasts were greatexclusive useself contained cottagesouth islandlocal knowledgestayed two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Our family of 4 spent one night at Ribbonwood (wish it could have been longer!) just after Christmas 2013. Jo was a great host - very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and cooked a delicious breakfast. Sadly didn't get to meet Julie as she was away at the time. The Waiho Suite was perfect for us. Lovely big room with superb views and very comfy bed, a smaller twin-bedded room for our girls and a very nice bathroom. Shoes-off is fine for us (a sensible idea!) as we lived in Japan and we continued with that here in Singapore. Jo gave us a good tip of a family-friendly restaurant in Franz Josef township and it turned out to be ideal. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Jonathon was the perfect host during our visit to Franz Josef. His relaxed and homely hospitality combined with local knowledge was the perfect combination for a most enjoyable and successful visit to the Glaziers. We were upgraded to the cottage, without even asking and felt like it was our own! The peace and views were spectacular. We would have been equally impressed with our booked room in the family house but would highly recommend the cottage for that extra special experience.
The glaziers are vanishing fast but the hospitality found at Ribbonwood won't thaw. We were treated to excellent breakfasts, created by Jonathon as he fed us with local information, facts and recommendations for trails. He has fascinating local knowledge and is passionate about his country and all that it has to offer to the interested adventurer.
We would return in a blink, and highly recommend to anyone visiting the Glaziers, before they melt....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our stay at Ribbonwood was a highlight of our trip. It was wonderful to stay in Julie and Jo's beautiful property and to enjoy the amazing views from the windows in the upper floor of the home and the cottage. All the rooms in the home and the cottage are truly lovely and the breakfast was delicious. It was also a real pleasure to chat with Julie and Jo and to learn more about the area. If we are ever in the area again, we would be delighted to stay at Ribbonwood.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Msegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our family of 5 recently spent 3 nights with Jo and Julie at Ribbonwood as we travelled down the west coast of NZ. We were given the whole upper floor of the house - plenty of space for ourselves and our 3 teenage boys. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and well maintained, everything spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfasts including home baked bread and fruit from the garden. The property is well located for Franz Josef and also the Okarito lagoon, from which we got the best view of Mt Cook and the Southern Alps. Jo and Julie as well as being excellent hosts are extremely knowledgeable about the local environment and were able to advise us on the best walks and places to visit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aus_to_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed there for 1 night and rented 2 rooms. Rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable. The owners are very friendly and willing to help in any matter like recommending restaurants and providing guidance for landmarks, petrol stations, etc. Owner even assisted preparing small birthday cake for my 40th. One of our best stays in NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shockedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews