We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ribbonwood Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ribbonwood Retreat
Ranked #1 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in the cottage. It is beautifully furnished and equipped and offers lovely views in a peaceful setting. Our hosts Julie and Jo were very friendly, helpful and informative about the local area. The breakfasts were yummy too.
It would be difficult to find 2 better hosts.
We are very glad that we chose to stay in Franz Josef rather than Fox Glacier. The helicopter trip was something we shall always remember.
We could not recommend Ribbonwood Retreat highly enough.
Thank you Julie and Jo.
Carole and David Harrison.
January 2014

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    19
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
166
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My son and I stayed with Julie and Joe on the night of 25 January en route from Christchurch to Queenstown. I wish we had been able to stay longer as it was a real treat staying at this retreat. We felt more like visitors to a family home than paying guests. I really liked the shared table and the drinks on arrival. The décor was sublime and really personal. The view of the glacier from my room was magnificent. We were recommended The Blue Ice for dinner and Joe and Julie offered us transport - which we declined. The Ribbonwood is a few kilometres from town. While I did not have the signature breakfast, mine was really lovely with plenty of hot coffee and great recommendations for the journey ahead. A cosy intimate lodging well worth a visit.

Room Tip: View of the glacier is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ribbonwood on our honeymoon. Jonathan was a great host, and had a ton of great recommendations about how to see the glacier, and hikes in the area. We would have never known about the hikes without him, and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Breakfast was amazing as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Our family of 4 spent one night at Ribbonwood (wish it could have been longer!) just after Christmas 2013. Jo was a great host - very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and cooked a delicious breakfast. Sadly didn't get to meet Julie as she was away at the time. The Waiho Suite was perfect for us. Lovely big room with superb views and very comfy bed, a smaller twin-bedded room for our girls and a very nice bathroom. Shoes-off is fine for us (a sensible idea!) as we lived in Japan and we continued with that here in Singapore. Jo gave us a good tip of a family-friendly restaurant in Franz Josef township and it turned out to be ideal. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Jonathon was the perfect host during our visit to Franz Josef. His relaxed and homely hospitality combined with local knowledge was the perfect combination for a most enjoyable and successful visit to the Glaziers. We were upgraded to the cottage, without even asking and felt like it was our own! The peace and views were spectacular. We would have been equally impressed with our booked room in the family house but would highly recommend the cottage for that extra special experience.
The glaziers are vanishing fast but the hospitality found at Ribbonwood won't thaw. We were treated to excellent breakfasts, created by Jonathon as he fed us with local information, facts and recommendations for trails. He has fascinating local knowledge and is passionate about his country and all that it has to offer to the interested adventurer.
We would return in a blink, and highly recommend to anyone visiting the Glaziers, before they melt....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our stay at Ribbonwood was a highlight of our trip. It was wonderful to stay in Julie and Jo's beautiful property and to enjoy the amazing views from the windows in the upper floor of the home and the cottage. All the rooms in the home and the cottage are truly lovely and the breakfast was delicious. It was also a real pleasure to chat with Julie and Jo and to learn more about the area. If we are ever in the area again, we would be delighted to stay at Ribbonwood.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Msegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our family of 5 recently spent 3 nights with Jo and Julie at Ribbonwood as we travelled down the west coast of NZ. We were given the whole upper floor of the house - plenty of space for ourselves and our 3 teenage boys. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and well maintained, everything spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfasts including home baked bread and fruit from the garden. The property is well located for Franz Josef and also the Okarito lagoon, from which we got the best view of Mt Cook and the Southern Alps. Jo and Julie as well as being excellent hosts are extremely knowledgeable about the local environment and were able to advise us on the best walks and places to visit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_to_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
329 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
657 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
294 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holly Homestead B&B
Holly Homestead B&B
#2 of 5 in Franz Josef
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribbonwood Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribbonwood Retreat

Property: Ribbonwood Retreat
Address: 26 Greens Road, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribbonwood Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ribbonwood B & B - a haven for nature lovers. Sleep deeply, breathing fresh clean air! Hosts Jonathan, a wildlife ranger and Julie, international school teacher are experts on history and ecology of the glacier region. We are passionate hikers and bird watchers who can show you the best places to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ribbonwood Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing