We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place next to Franz Joseg”
Review of Ribbonwood Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ribbonwood Retreat
Ranked #1 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We got to this B&B while looking for place to sleep next to Franz-Josef
The place is very nice, well maintained very clean and the owners are great

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giladtzori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Ribbonwood Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

Stayed one night in what is effectively self-contained accommodation at the end of the house. Comfortable well appointed room and Jo is a friendly host. Of the 3 B&Bs we stayed in in NZ this was the most expensive but was not up to the others in terms of facilities or breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickiePhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules068, Owner at Ribbonwood Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2011

Firstly we would like to thank reviewers who have enjoyed staying with us and for others who have given us the opportunity to give our feedback regarding prices. We would like to point out that we have not increased our tariffs for three years except to compensate for the 2.5% increase in the NZ goods and services tax introduced last October. During the last several years the Euro and the GB Pound have weakened significantly against the NZ Dollar. For example the GB Pound has decreased from NZ$2.80 to NZ$2.10 in the last two years and the Euro has decreased from NZ$2.40 to NZ$1.70 over the same period. The NZ dollar is currently at a 31year high against the GB Pound.

The beautiful and mountainous terrain that makes Franz Josef and the Glacier region so special also creates transport and logistical problems, with the high the cost of fuel, food and services making the southern West Coast the most expensive region in NZ. In addition the tourist season in Westland is only five months long, for the rest of the year very few people visit the region, making investment in tourism activities like ours costly. Other regions such as Wanaka and Queenstown enjoy the benefit of a double season with winter skiing however the mountains of Westland are too steep and the snow too unreliable for any skiing facilities to be established here. As a result, our B&B is closed from May to October.

We do commiserate with our overseas guests who have seen their buying power severely eroded by the decline in their currencies against the New Zealand dollar, but again point out that we have not increased our prices for three years despite our costs rising steadily. May we suggest that tourist who wish to make their money go further book their holidays in Westland during our winter, May to October when there are discounts available here at Ribbonwood. Added to that you will enjoy cool but settled sunny weather (spring and Christmas are our wettest seasons) and you will not have to battle the holiday crowds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

It's very nice to find a relaxing place to enjoy some peace and quiet during a fairly hectic trip around the South Island. We had been constantly on the move for days when we came across Ribbonwood.

It was the best possible place to unwind, just far enough out of town to escape the tourist buzz surrounding Franz Josef village. Our host Jo, was a very welcoming and relaxed person, with a wealth of knowledge about the local activities as well as the flora and fauna.

Our room, the separate cottage, was decorated to a high and tasteful standard, and was exceptionally clean and tidy. We were able to sit out on the front deck during the evening and watch the sun set in the west with a glass of Pinot Noir.

We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. We'll be back I'm sure.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

This guesthouse is in a rural setting about 10 minutes drive from Franz Josef but too far out to make walking in to the village a practical option. Our host, Jo, confirmed that he had moved from the centre to this area to escape the constant noise of helicopters flying back and forward between Franz Josef and the glacier - something which we had not considered when choosing our accommodation but with hindsight this was a benefit of staying at Ribbonwood Retreat. Ironically we had asked Jo in advance to book us on the heli-hiking trip to the glacier and a flight over Mount Cook not taking into account that we were adding to the noise pollution!

Jo met us on arrival and asked that we adhere to the policy of taking off our shoes when coming into the house. We had previously come across this elsewhere on our travels in NZ which I can understand when guests arrive in hiking boots (I wouldn‘t trail these over the floors anyway) but otherwise we found it a bit of a nuisance to hop around the porch especially when the flooring inside the house wasn’t carpet!

We were welcomed with hot drinks, home baking and a pleasant chat to introduce ourselves - Jo has a relaxed manner and was easy to talk to having travelled the world quite a bit himself - Julia was working overseas at the time of our visit. There was a very warm log burning stove in the spacious open plan living room/kitchen. This was also where breakfast was served - and very decent fare it was too.

Our accommodation, unlike that of other reporters, was on the ground floor. When talking to Jo he mentioned that Ribbonwood had become a guesthouse due to demand for accommodation in the area - but hadn’t been designed with that in mind. The downstairs accommodation would appear to support this as we found the layout unusual. The bedroom to the front was quite small and a hallway led to a separate toilet and then on to a very large bathroom. During our short stay outside temperatures were very variable and in contrast to the living room this guest area was cold - the toilet in the early hours of the morning particularly so - although we didn’t have to break ice!

The colourful décor in the guest area wasn’t to our taste and extended even to the bathrobes which were Japanese kimono style. The bed mattress was too soft for our preference. The bathroom had acres of space and the bath and walk-in shower had very good water pressure so no complaints there.

I’m conscious that this report isn’t sounding as if it’s glowing. Perhaps if we had stayed in the upper rooms (which we didn’t see) or the cottage on site our view may have been different. However that should not detract from the welcoming manner in which we were treated - Jo was very helpful and friendly e.g. he arranged our Mount Cook Airlines flight for the morning to take advantage of the best light conditions. It transpired that despite blue skies this was at first postponed then cancelled due to high winds and we ended up doing a similar trip with Wilderness Wings the next day from Hokitika instead. (Unfortunately only flights with Mount Cook Airlines touch down on a nearby glacier and on my second trip to NZ I've again missed out on this experience - next time!).

However our heli-hiking tour booked via Jo did go ahead and this was a great experience. We used Helicopter Line Franz Josef who supply all the gear needed - including boots and crampons for walking on the glacier (please don‘t try these in a NZ guesthouse!). The flight, whilst short, was one of the most exhilarating experiences I’ve had - banking dramatically around the valley sides to land on the glacier itself. We then trekked around for an hour or so with our guide getting great views of this natural wonder and exploring holes in the ice - we had the opportunity to squeeze, crawl and walk through an ice tunnel - before being lifted off by helicopter again. The crew throughout were friendly - from booking, ground, air to glacier. (Expensive at NZ$390 - roughly £175 - each but worth the trip and a lot easier than walking up - I did this many years ago and it’s good too if you have the time).

We ate dinner and lunch in Franz Josef at Beeches Restaurant (separate report will be posted).

In summary Ribbonwood Retreat is a functional base for seeing the area and has a friendly host.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed here a couple of nights while we took in Franz Josef and though it's a bit out of town (only 5 mins or so), we actually quite liked that. Jo was a great host, full of really great stories from his time as a DOC ranger / general outdoorsman. That really made a great stay brilliant. Breakfast was good and healthy (for a change!) and the house spotless. Loved its design too. Wouldn't hesitate in coming again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyGeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We stayed one night and found Ribbonwood generally very good. Comfortable room with a good bed and shower. Breakfast wasn't quite up to the blurb on the website and it was expensive - but then again the whole of South Island west coast seems expensive ...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

This wonderful B&B has lots of space and wonderful special touches that scream "classy". The care they took in designing and decorating the bedroom and bathroom was as if they were sleeping there themselves. It had extremely comfortable beds with beautiful coverings and a large, well laid-out bathroom. Beautiful floors, nice deck. We had the whole top floor to ourselves and the views from all sides were magnificent.

The location is great, just a few minutes drive from town. Jo was very helpful with information. Breakfast was filling and tasty. The wireless was perfect. Did I mention clean? It's spotless! Wear your good socks 'cause this is a shoe free house.

I'm coming back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovingt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
369 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
666 reviews
2.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holly Homestead B&B
Holly Homestead B&B
#2 of 5 in Franz Josef
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribbonwood Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribbonwood Retreat

Address: 26 Greens Road, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range: £133 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribbonwood Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ribbonwood B & B - a haven for nature lovers. Sleep deeply, breathing fresh clean air! Hosts Jonathan, a wildlife ranger and Julie, international school teacher are experts on history and ecology of the glacier region. We are passionate hikers and bird watchers who can show you the best places to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ribbonwood Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing