We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Japan on Saipan with everything inside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Himawari

Himawari
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Garapan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Japan on Saipan with everything inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Okay first thing to know is Himawari is inside the village of Garapan, close to the Bank of Saipan. Now as for the “everything part” Himawari is a grocery store – Japanese merchandise, restaurant and apartment. Furthermore, it’s a bakery and meals ready to eat; such as sushi, samshimi – Tuna, Octopus, bento, etc.
Now with all said, the restaurant is very affordable offering numerous Japanese dishes to include Saba (Fired Mackerel), Poki (Tuna with Sesame old), and tempura (fired fish, shrimp, and vegetables in batter), etc. My favorite is the baked salmon on rice with miso soup and salad.
Therefore, the only bad part is finding the place, but it’s worth going to, I guarantee it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 670671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    53
    35
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Санкт-Петербург
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice sushi-bar, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

very slow and busy waitresses. small range of sushi. but not bad quality. not enough seats in the restaurant and very closely. Himawari store i like better! Japanese cosmetic is very good and cheap

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tigren0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

My coworkers regularly come here for grab-and-go meals available in the back of the grocery store. To me, the food is ok. Not great, not horrible. I'm not a huge fan of sushi so I usually get the cold shrimp rolls or tempura shrimp or chicken and rice bowl. The shrimp rolls would be great if the shrimp inside had any flavor, and I believe they're overpriced for what you get. The tempura shrimp is ok considering it's been sitting in a warming case for a couple hours. I haven't tried the little restaurant to the side and I have a feeling the shrimp tempura would be much better fresh and hot.

On the plus side, the store employees are always friendly and efficient. After many disappointing meals, I now usually skip Himawari.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank badgieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Best bakery and bento on island. FRESH baked goods and fish. Good supply of Japanese products as well. Also has a good sushi restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dabearrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

donuts were soft and always fresh and tasted great. breakfast and lunch are delicious bento boxes, with a small dining area to sit and eat. Hotel upstairs, but didn't book room, no wi-fi.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rocnrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Himawari also viewed

Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
 
Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
 
Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
 

Been to Himawari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing