We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep Paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatokae Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gatokae Island
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deep Paradise”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Overall a truly amazing place worth the visit from adventurous travelers. Have waited too long to post the review - stayed twice in 2005. Good destination for couples or families with older children. Corey and family had the right balance of attentiveness and unobtrusiveness to make the stay enjoyable. Basic offerings yet comfort in a village that remains one of the more remote corners of the planet. Not for high maintenance people.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayfarerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Loved the beauty and setting of this lodge. The bungalows next to the water were divine.
Loved that it only caters for a few at a time. Great diving , good service and food.
Didn't enjoy their pizza one night but otherwise good.

Room Tip: Bungalows excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingstonTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just returned from 5 day stay at Wilderness Lodge.
The water front bungalows are truely amazing, brilliant design and architecture.
The Resort is solar powered.
Wilderness Lodge now offers inhouse scuba diving facilities for small groups.
The dive locations, staff and boats were all excellent.
Wilderness food is legendary, pretty much all sourced locally and prepared in wonderful ways.
Meals are interesting, varied and huge.
Staff are very friendly ad helpful.
The Lodge is associated with a small village that is well worth visiting.
We did an excellent hslf day visit to neighbouring village, Bichi, well worth while.
This stay was combined with time at Uepi Resort, further North. The transfer between the two was a half day boat trip that included two dives and lunch stop on the way. Combining both Resorts was worthwhile.
The boat trip in and out is part of the adventure.
Will be returning in future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nzdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney,australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We returned to Wilderness( a year later) and loved it just as much as the first time.If anything the food was even better than before and plenty of it.It has such a relaxed atmosphere and you can never tire of the view from the bungalow veranda.
The only disappointing thing about this visit was the fact that there were only cold water showers whereas last year we had warm water each evening.Due to all the rain the overall temperatures were much cooler so the water seemed even colder. Please bring back the water heaters,they are very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Book a beach bungalow not a lodge room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamilstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Wilderness Lodge has so much to offer. Just getting there from Uepi Is - after 3 hours in a motorised , uncovered long boat, with mountainous waves and torrential rain - an unforgettable adventure. Gatoke airstrip offers a quicker entry.
The staff are very friendly; the food is plentiful and delicious; the bungalows on the beach are clean, comfortable, private, with great view of the lagoon. The nearby villages are interesting to investigate and you are always greeted with a smile. Many varied activities are on offer - visiting the nearby Biche village is an absolute must and the trek back is highly recommended.
You need to swim 100m to the outer reef to see some excellent coral. A two seater kayak is available and its possible to tie it onto an outer mooring while exploring the outer reef.
You will need to do some guided trips away from the outer reef (which tend to be expensive) if you are hoping to see schools of colorful fish. Uepi Is is more suited for this with its sharks and plentiful large fish.
We were there during the trade winds of July. Avoid this season if you want your swimming to be in less choppy water. Also be flexible with your time - Solomon Airlines departures are dependent on the weather - delays are common.

Room Tip: The two beach bungalows are more expensive but are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This small lodge and two bungalows is in a private area set apart from the village of Peava on Gatokae Island. Solar power, good design, and spring-fed water make this a comfortable place without rumbling generators and air-cons; only the swish of the waves, the laughter of the kids and the crowing of the cocks disturb the peace.
Although it is outside the more well-known Marovo Lagoon, Peava has its own lagoon in front. The snorkelling is world class, especially the "Peava Wall" where the coral reef falls away into blue depths 400m deep. We did not do the many other activities that are offered, being very content to hang out in our bungalow and explore Peava Lagoon on a double kayak that is free to use. The Marovo region is famous for its carvers, and a simple request was enough for an extensive private showing to be arranged. This is done in the village to preserve the privacy of the Lodge.
The food was plentiful and very good, making creative use of local ingredients - what can be better than a huge plate of tropical fruit for breakfast? Dining out on fresh tuna and pineapple shashlicks on the deck overlooking the lagoon was pure pleasure. Chilled wine, beer and soft drinks are available from the small solar powered refrigerator.
Getting there by light plane and then motorized canoe is part of the adventure. Plan enough time for things to go wrong at Solomon Air. The main problem is that the airstrips get damaged in wet conditions, and flights get re-routed. Neither going nor returning did our flights go according to schedule. A dump of rain can temporarily close the strip at Gatokae.
The bungalows are only 2 years old, and offer all the comfort of facilities that Westerners expect, with high standards of cleanliness. There is a toilet and handbasin in the room, with the private open-air shower a few steps away outside. The lodge facilities are older and are shared, but are clean and perfectly good.

Room Tip: The bungalows have a double bed at either end, with shared toilet facilities and a small sitting are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard_barcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I travelled to a number of resorts within the Solomons, and the Wilderness Lodge was definately my favourite! Myself and a friend travelled together and we both loved it, and haven't stopped raving about it to our friends and family. We really appreciated the eco friendly approach, and the way they have fitted into the local environment and culture.
We arrived after a few days of roughing it, and long days of travel by boat, and it was so lovely to see the beautiful bungalows and the comfortable queen sized beds. The rooms are serviced every day, and anything that you could think of needing is provided. The wooden carvings around the resort are exquisite, and we met the man who did most of them and he proudly described the process to us which was fascinating.
The staff are so friendly and accommodating, especially Ronnie, who took us on walks, and had the answer to any question we asked.
The snorkelling is great, both around the jetty, and at the reef wall which is about 100m from the jetty. You can also go to the islands around Wilderness, just a short boat ride away.
We visited Biche village, which I would 100% recommend to anyone visiting Wildnerness. It was an amazing experience which I will never forget.

Wilderness has something for every traveller, whether you want to just relax on the deck of your bungalow, go for a 2 day trek through the rainforest, surf, fish, or snorkel. I am already planning my next visit!

Room Tip: It's worth spending the little extra to get a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatokae Island
0.0 mi away
Imagination Island
Imagination Island
#2 of 3 in Gizo
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
0.0 mi away
Gizo Hotel
Gizo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gizo
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#4 of 7 in Honiara
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ropiko Beach Resort
Ropiko Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Gatokae Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilderness Lodge

Property: The Wilderness Lodge
Address: Peava Village | Gatokae Island, Gatokae Island, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Gatokae Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gatokae Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a coral lagoon on Gatokae Island at the southeastern tip of the Solomons' Western Province, the wilderness lodge offers unique access to the rich natural and cultural world of Marovo Lagoon.Catering for a maximum of 12 guests the private Wilderness Lodge has been designed to meld the atmosphere of the Gatokae rainforest, ocean, and neighbouring small village with Western comforts and convenience. Oceanfront bungalows feature traditional sago palm leaf roofs and polished hardwood interiors for the ultimate in cool tropical living.Enjoy real Melanesian hospitality with your Marovo hosts Waelinah and Vaelathy and unique local experiences and genuine adventure with the Wilderness guides. Our all Solomon Island staff has been trained here in Peava, and years of experience and integration have created a unique example of culturally- and environmentally-sensitive tourism. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing