We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, well run, excellent service!”
Review of Sanbis Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gizo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sanbis Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Gizo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing location, well run, excellent service!”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Sanbis resort for 5 nights from th 1st of Jan to the 6th 2013. The location is stunning! It is incredibly beautiful, and you will be surpised at how clear the water is! The coral reef surrounding the resort makes for excellent snorkelling with a huge variety of marine life including reef sharks. There are also no dangerous currents.
The resort has all the equipment you will need to snorkle/dive, and they also have a number of paddle boats you can use free of charge, which is great for paddling to near by islands. You can also organise trips basically last minute to be taken to any island/dive/snorkle location.
The accommodation is great for such a remote location. It completely fends for itself with elecricity/water/waste etc. Because of this you cannot expect things like a TV or aircon. The huts are gorgeous and have beds with fly nets covering them. The shower and running water is salty, however you are supplied with drinking water daily.
The staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating, and ensured that we were always comfortable and had everything that we needed.
The food at the Sanbis is 5 star! Incredible! At the bar there is a pizza wood oven - we had pizza's from there for lunch daily, and we miss them! They were delicious! As for dinner, you had a choice of 2 starters, 3 mains and 1 desert which changed daily. Each meal was better than the last! The food was simply fantastic!
The resort owner - Hans, is a classic character! He is at the bar most nights and provides great entertainment - especially after a few drinks.
If you are debating between the Sanbis & Fatboys, then don't - Sanbis is by far the better choice! We went to Fatboys one day for lunch, but the place wasn't serving food as they had no guests - I could see why, it looked run down, and just had a very bland vibe to it.
All in all, Sanbis gets 4/5 from me, would definitely recommend this resort, and look forward to returning there one day soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vessi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    23
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
53
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We had 6 nights at Sanbis. For us, the highlight was diving. Sunga the dive master, and Ravia the boat/water sports man really made our stay. Both are exceptionally helpful and good at what they do. If diving is your reason for visiting you won't be disappointed. Mantas, pigmy seahorses, nudibranch, and of course incredible WWII wrecks within reach of recreational divers.

The rooms are mostly well thought out, with little things that make you feel comfortable - rainwater, tea and coffee; umbrellas in case of rain; more towels than you can poke a stick at; etc.

A couple of things were irritating. 1. The very comfortable, imported bed is probably not intended for use with a mosquito net, so you invariably jam your fingers between the mattress and bed frame when getting in/out. 2. There is an issue with fresh water, so the shower and bathroom water is quite salty. Perhaps this is a difficult issue due to a lack of rainfall... 3. And for us vegetarians, the food is not particularly great. The chefs did try, but I think their repertoire was limited and everything seemed to revolve around pumpkin and beans - gets a bit old after 6 days. The alternative was pizza at the front bar - which was very good... just only so much of that a person can eat too.

Apart from these issues, we did get the sense that Hans (the owner) goes to great lengths to improve the resort and make the experience a great one. I would recommend it to someone looking for more western style beach side accommodation. I think it represents reasonable value compared to similar accommodation in the Solomons, particularly with the attached dive shop and water sport facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank global_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This is the best place I have ever been….. The surroundings are positively magical and beautiful beyond words.

Zero commerciality – zero hype – zero hassle. Just lovely nature, fantastic people and the best snorkeling I have ever done…

The resort itself is not fancy but it is delightful! Each hut (we liked #5) has its own private beach – and you can snorkel right out into a wonderland of lovely coral and fish. You have your own bathroom and clean sheets and towels, what more do you need? By the way, the so-called “salty” water in the bathroom isn’t really salty at all – I had been worried about it after hearing it mentioned in a couple of other reviews, but I didn’t even notice it – felt just like totally fresh water to me.

The staff is attentive and kind. Each one was helpful and friendly and always ready with a warm smile. The owner/creator Hans Mergozzi is a fascinating guy with a great sense of humor and lots of interesting stories. We found ourselves heading out to the SB bar for lunch in the afternoon to hang out because he is a great deal of fun to talk to.

The food is excellent – they have a delicious lobster dish on the menu every night (they call them crayfish) as well as another fresh fish dish and one other choice. For lunch, everyone likes the pizza, but I thought the Kingfish with rice was the best. The continental breakfast is made up of wonderful fruit, your choice of cereal and toast. The full breakfast is eggs, toast, bacon and baked beans. It was great – but if I had to have one complaint about Sanbis, it would be that there could be more breakfast choices (French toast, perhaps? A waffle?).

I had been very worried that it was going to be too hot and I would be uncomfortable. I was thrilled to find that there was a gentle breeze most of the time and the temperatures were very comfortable! Watch out for sunburn while you are snorkeling – we were stupid and forgot to wear lotion the first couple of days and got pretty badly burned. After that we wore stinger suits while we snorkeled, which solved the problem, but if we had only remembered to put sun block on to begin with, we would never have had a problem.

We took side trips to Nuse Aghana and to Olasana Island (an island JFK swam to from the more famous Kennedy Island in search of supplies). Both have great snorkeling, but of the two, the snorkeling at Nuse Aghana was the most spectacular. It was a pleasant 20 minute boat ride with Ravia (the watersports guy, who is really excellent) at the helm. The day we were there it was a little rough, but we still loved it. Try to go on a day when the sea is very calm. It costs a bit extra to go there because of the fuel, but it was worth it - the snorkeling was really amazing…….

If you are looking for a Sandals or Club Med type of experience (yawn), go elsewhere. Sanbis is truly a special and unique place where only a few very privileged people ever get to go. If you really want to try something different and wonderful – and you are willing to take a chance and go off the beaten path, Sanbis is for you. It is a place where you can truly unplug and remember who you are. We traveled a long way to get there (from the New York area) but it was worth it. We were there for two weeks and loved every single minute of it. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We really liked hut 5. It has both a double bed and a single bed. It was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Twinklebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed at the Sanbis resort for 6 days...it was a very unusual place and suited our needs perfectly. We are travellers not tourists. We can make our own entertainment and we can entertain others. We met interesting people and in our turn provided interest for others I believe. Day trips can be arranged on an individual basis for fishing on the reef, or clambering ashore on a remote Volcanic Island where Megapodes lay their eggs...yes you will get wet and bruised by the waves getting in and out of the boat....but you may also bring giant eggs back for a sulphurous breakfast the next morning. The resort has a man-cave on it's jetty ...good rock music collection of DVDs... and at times lively conversation all depedemt on who is staying there. We had days alone except for the staff...and just mucked in...and enjoyed the layed back ambience.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach dwellings with lapping waves under the wooden balcony....there is the option of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowdropbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Two friends and myself ventured over to Sanbis in October 2012. We looked at most of the pacific islands and decided on the Solomons. What firstly excited us about the Solomon Islands was the limited information available about it, especially the island resorts (like Sanbis) with the environment and community being largely untouched by tourism.

From the get go it was an adventure with the trip getting better and better as it went on.

From a surfers/divers perspective the resort offered everything we wanted, we even dived straight off the front bar to see the tuna boat that was sunk. The surfing was about 10 minutes from the boat which is untouched as the locals (thanks Ravi for taking us out) dont surf the breaks unless its perfect. We got 2 great surfs while we were there. One day was about 6 foot and the other about 3 foot.

The SB bar was relaxing and entertaining and the food was filling and delicious.

When we got our bill at the end we were pleasantly surprised. Nothing was complementary but everything that we paid for was reasonable and the strong Aussie dollar made it all the better. The bill at the end was much less than we expected.

Overall it was a great experience.

Thanks Hans & the crew.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 657ChrisH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My husband and I travled well over 30 hours from Washington, DC to reach Sanbis for our remote honeymoon getaway last year-- we couldn't have been more pleased. As an eco resort with natural amenities ( no AC, no TV) , Sanbis was the perfect place to disconnect from the modern world. The rooms were au natural and breezy- the only downside was the salty shower water, but I believe that's a part of conservation. The food was excellent, my husband is a vegetarian and the kitchen accomodated his meals with brilliant food. As a seafood eater myself, the menu is divine. Several of the days at Sanbis were the best of my life, I wish our entire visit to the Solomons was there. Our dive master Ravia took us on several great dives, dropped us off for a splendid picnic lunch at a remote and private island, and took us on a wonderful trip to Lola Island and to snorkle around a WWII plane. I have such fond memories of the trip-- we are already trying to plan our next visit! If you are into great dives and a little adventure, Sanbis is a must!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
178 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Sanbis Resort is a wonderful spot to visit. It was all that I imagined and more. The accommodation was extremely clean, the people were helpful and the food was varied , fresh and tasty. The type of guests that Sanbis attracts are adventurous,interesting, and usually keen to mix with other guests. Hans the owner was most helpful answering my many questions promptly. The snorkelling was stunning. I especially loved finding the Nemo fish. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the next couple of years. I am happy to answer anyone elses queries.

Room Tip: All similarly good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jt2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gizo
2.7 mi away
Imagination Island
Imagination Island
#2 of 3 in Gizo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
229.0 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
229.1 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 7 in Honiara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gizo Hotel
Gizo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gizo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
229.1 mi away
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
0.0 mi away
Rekona Lodge
Rekona Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gizo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanbis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanbis Resort

Property: Sanbis Resort
Address: Mbabanga Island | Western Province, Gizo, Ghizo Island 1100, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Ghizo Island > Gizo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gizo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Total Exclusivity! Located on a secluded island approximately 7 minutes from Gizo by boat, Sanbis Resort offers premier accommodation with each bungalow having its own private beach; ensuite with hot water and a stunning view across the lagoon. The number of bungalows has been limited to six to ensure privacy and luxury for guests. You will be spoilt in every way possible. The resort boasts a gourmet kitchen with a fully stocked bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sanbis Hotel Gizo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing