We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meals at the Gizo Hotel”
Review of Gizo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gizo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gizo
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Meals at the Gizo Hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed elsewhere in Gizo, but ate at the Gizo Hotel most nights because it was close to where we were staying, and because there are really only two places to eat at night in Gizo.

The quality of the food was good, & the price, while expensive for what the Gizo locals could afford, is around AUD$22 for a main course. Choices were mainly seafood, but for the price, you could get a whole crayfish (lobster), whole crab etc, which in Australia would cost upwards of $70!

If you're really desperate for a glass of wine, buy a bottle (even though it's about AUD$30 per bottle). The 'house wine' is watery & poured out of a flagon.

The service is not fast, but not in Gizo is fast, so the best advice is to get there & order straight away, then sit & relax. One night we ordered & didn't get our meal, so don't wait more than an hour without chasing it up.

The location of the Gizo Hotel is right near the wharf & the market on the main road, & the restaurant area has a nice, tropical feel and was always clean. The service was restrained, but polite.

All-in-all, it was a very nice place to eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellycoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    26
    21
    10
    11
See reviews for
5
10
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I booked into this hotel on the advice of others, but right from the start it turned out to be a nightmare. The charge of 1000 Solomon dollars is top dollar for any room, anywhere in the Solomon's, and when I went ionto the room provided and couldn't even find a bar of soap anywhere I complained in person to the receptionist, who seemmed to double as manager. I also requested a remote TV controller and a bedside light.

The answer came about 30 mins later when the receptionist said that they had upgraded me to another room. This room DID have a bar of soap but also had the following defects:

The toilet was filthy, with black tar like growth coming down from under the toilet upper basin.
The bathroom light didn't work
The TV didn't have a remote
There was no bedside table lamp
The only chair in the room was a plastic patio chair
The fridge had no shelves
The overhead fan controller was partly broken and the fan vibrated such that I considered it unsafe to operate
The Coffee making facilities consisted of three plastic containers with coffee, sugar and creamer, but they were all stale and congealed and very unhygenic.
The Airconditioner was set above the entrance door and could only be adjusted if you stood on the plastic chair, which was dangerous.

It was Sunday and the only option in town was to eat in the restaurant and drink at the bar, and the menu was very limited to what was on the blackboard near the bar, about 4 main courses, a soup and dessert. I took my drink to the shelf overlooking the front of the hotel waiting for the restaurant to open at 1830, and, after 5 other chinese guests had ordered their dinner I ordered mine. After 50 minutes waiting for a bowl of soup I complained and shortly afterwards it arrived. The chinese got their food after 75 minutes of waiting.

After dinner I went back to my room and was accosted by a prostitute in the hotel grounds and agian after my evening walk.

In summary, food OK but took to long, room totally unacceptable, service and security a joke.

On the 20th of March I related all these problems to the hotel management in the Solomon Isles hotel in Honiara, the owners of the Gizo hotel, and asked them to email me with what they were going to do about the appaling service I received. To date nothing has been received.

Room Tip: See the room forst and check out the points I've raised. Unless it is top dollar room then don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank howardeawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gizo hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We ate here christmas eve and they had a buffet, traditional dancing and a live band. The food was very expensive $250 SBD and $150 SBD for children and it was terrible. The seafood was all dried out and the salad was made with off tomatoes and slimy lettuce. The music and dancing was enjoyable and people were having a good time.
We also ended up staying here for a night when our flight to Honiara was delayed. The room was clean, the aircon worked, the hot water was hot and strong and the pool was nice ( but smelt like it had way too much chlorine). But be warned, don't rely on a wake-up call because ours never came.
Overall, it was a pleasant hotel but does not compare to the location of other resorts like fatboys.

Room Tip: Connecting rooms are avaliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank my_travelling_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We were scuba diving in Gizo and found this hotel was great if you want to experience what the Solomons are really like. Being in town means you can walk around and experience the town of Gizo.
Room was adequate - air conditining and a fan - great for dealing with the humidity.
The pool is awesome - it's clean and cool and great for lazing around - our room was on the bottom floor and made the pool very easily accessible.
Internet is available but you need to purchase a card, make sure you go to the hotel desk in the morning to purchase one or there may not be any left.
Food in the restuarant is tasty but takes a long time to arrive, some of my freinds waited almost an hour and a half to get their main meals (island time :)), oreder the pizza, it tastes good and is cooked quickly.
If you like your drinks cold then you're in for a suprise - you have to request ice at the bar - they don't make much and run out of it fast when they do.

Room Tip: Downstairs near the pool - we stayed in 113.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geminikitty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Did not stay here but ate at the restuarant. Menu changes all the time, and they have just put in a pizza oven. Service is VERY VERY SLOW, everything is in Solomons time. Prices start from about $120 SBD for a meal. Food is OK, not amazing. Other options include Lamasa for lunch, which is a fraction of the price (a roti stuffed with vege curry is $10SBD), and PT109 which is a little cheaper than the hotel but serves similar dishes (but no pizza).

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ashkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

If you want to be in town, this is the place (Fatboys and others are better if you want a more out-of-the-way resort-type place). Very basic, but better than you'd expect in a location like this. Dinner was quite qood (stick with the fish), breakfast was very limited. Wifi promised at the website was not available--only worked via prepaid cards and they'd run out some days earlier, and none were available in town over a weekend. But if you are really demanding about amenities, you wouldn't be going to Gizo.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

hotel is in an excellent position set in a small village atmosphere...friday night is very noisy as the hotel becomes the meeting plce for a rave that goes on until it is finished, in other words no time lmit . Suggest take top floor of hotel , if you wanr some rest.
Hotel staff wonderful , and the dining room has a great view and a pleasant place to enjoy a Solbrew after a swim in the pool.....3 to 4 days a good length of stay....Fatboys is popular

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamptonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gizo
0.0 mi away
Imagination Island
Imagination Island
#2 of 3 in Gizo
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#4 of 8 in Honiara
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sanalae Apartments
Sanalae Apartments
#3 of 8 in Honiara
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rekona Lodge
Rekona Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gizo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gizo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gizo Hotel

Property: Gizo Hotel
Address: Western Province, Gizo, Ghizo Island, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Ghizo Island > Gizo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gizo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gizo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gizo Hotel is a Holiday Resort catering for tourists, families and people doing business in or around Gizo Island. We have modern facilities including free WIFI for patrons, Internet Cafe, outdoor swimming pool, massage house, Fishing Charter, Hire boats for guided day tours, Restaurant/Bar, full laundry and house keeping service and of course 45 modern rooms with Air-conditioning, Cable TV Flat screens 32" or 42", toilet/shower, balcony, fridge, room safe, ceiling fan. We have a team of highly trained staff that will make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. A team of ten security guards patrol the hotel 24/7, security cameras are fitted outside entrance doors for added peace of mind making the Gizo Hotel the safest accommodation available in Gizo. The Gizo Hotel is the perfect place to stay to experience the beauty that this Island and its surroundings has to offer. We are an Australian family owned hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gizo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing