We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to be in the middle of the action in this little town, stay here.”
Review of Gizo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gizo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gizo
Reviewed 24 October 2009

I didn't know what to expect of Gizo and was pleasantly suprised to have struck lucky with the Gizo Hotel. I will admit to not having seen any other lodgings in town, but from what I heard, they do not compare to this hotel, the exception being an unknown smaller lodging up on the hill overlooking Gizo (as descibed by a fellow traveller).
The Gizo Hotel is the situated on the main street opposite the wharf which operates the airport ferry. I was in an upstairs sea view room which was basic but confortable. Despite being right in centre of town and more or less opposite the daily market, it was nicely quiet for this light sleeper. The balcony view of the water was somewhat obscured by high palm trees but this just meant that it was the perfect private location to sit and enjoy an early evening drink with a friend and observe the world passing by on the main street beneath.
The hotel restaurant is top notch, best in town with a good menu changing daily. Beers are average priced, wines are all aussie, over priced...but you are in the middle of nowhere. The restaurant/bar is also the place where the local personalities, NGO reps and other travellers congregate. If you're a lone traveller, this is the best place in town to meet people and there is always a bit of buzz.
Staff were good fun and really on the ball, especially when compared to the sister hotel in Honiara (King Solomons).
My reason to visit was personal, a dive holiday with Dive Gizo (which I can also recommend). The shop will either pick you up from the front of the Hotel or you can walk for 8 mins..no big deal, especially as the main street was due to be tarmacadamed in September 09 which would only make the otherwise mud/dust main street more passable.
In summary, I like this hotel and the local area, underwater included. It was a terrific trip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank O2Bubbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Gizo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2009

turned out to be a good choice for a first timer to the Solomons. I spent my days diving with Dive Gizo which i will reveiw separately.

given the faraway location, Gizo hotel is very professionally run.
Reception staff are attentive and helpful and nothing is a problem plus they sorted out a bill query promptly with no fuss. Rooms were service daily. The air conditioning worked well - for me this was important for 2 reasons - 1 it is hot and humid and 2 i need a dry place to assemble my u/w camera equipment each morning. the hot water may not have worked for a couple of days but who cares when you are 8 degrees off the equator!.
Breakfast and Dinner service was prompt and the meals were substantial. breakfast is $70 Sol and consists of bacon and eggs. Toast, tea/coffe/cocoa and fresh fruit and fruit juice. Evening meals consist of entrees for $60 and mains from $100 all the way up to $150 for a whole crayfish or $175 for steak. servings are substantial. Beer is Solbrew and is $19 at the hotel - call it $20 and tip the hardworking bar staff.
Evening entertainment consisted of sing sings and dances as well as giant bamboo pipes and to top if off a girl doing baton twiling Solomons style! - with a 26 inch bush knife (Machette) instead of a sissy baton. Has to be seen to be beleived.
roooms surround a nice pool and well kept gardens. Harbour view rooms are best as you look out over the fish markets and you can sit on your balcony and see people go about their daily business.
There are less expensive accomodation options however the saying "what you pay for is what you get" applies the world over. if you want to stay for more than a week to surf or dive till you drop - suggest you enquire abot Gavinas or PT109 - they are not as expensive and are very basic but liveable.
I would stay at the Gizo hotel again

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoraymanCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Gizo Hotel is the best place to stay in Gizo. From the airport it's only a short boat ride to Gizo town. The hotel is located right in front of the jetty. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very nice. The pool area is also very nice, but the pool is small.
There is a little dive company near the hotel which we used for diving and snorkeling. It was some of the best diving we have done so far. There is a japanese wreck, the Toa Maru near the airport which was full of sake bottles. Even a small tank and ammunition was lying near it. The dive company organises trips to small offshore islands around Gizo.
In the evening there is an island night with singing and dancing about twice a week. The food in the restaurant is good, but can become a bit boring after a couple of days.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msdstefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2008

During a 3 week stay on the island of Ghizo we spent several nights in the Gizo hotel . The standard was much higher than we expected . We stayed in a room over looking the harbour, which is the centre of Gizo life. The room was clean and comfortable , with aircon ,ceiling fan,fridge and satellite tv . The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and make you very welcome. The food is all fresh local produce, mainly fish and lobster/crayfish with some chicken dishes aswell - not very sophisticated but when you can eat lobster every night for £10 who cares ! Service can be a slow but that's Solomon time for you. The bar by the restaurant is also well used by the locals and ex-pats so has a good atmosphere. Nick . England . UK

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darbyn100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2006

Stayed here in October 05, had a great stay. The Solomon Islands is unlike anything else I have ever experienced.

The Rooms here are very good in Solomon Standards, I stayed in an Upstairs Pool/Sea View Room, and could look out the front of the hotel and see this little Solomon Islands kiddies jumping into the water off the jetty. (I wouldn't advise that, its not clean water at the front of the hotel, lots of boats = lots of oil and dirty water). The room had 2 double beds in the rooms even though I was staying by myself, a TV (but it didn't work, not that it mattered), air conditioning, a closet, a desk. Very comfortable, I slept like a baby. There is a nightclub underneath the restaurant that is open late, but in my room I couldn't hear anything.

The location, its right in the heart of Gizo. You fly into GIzo then get a boat transfer to the main township. Gizo Hotel is the first thing you see when your boat pulls up. A couple of metres to the front desk and then into your room. Its also a couple of minutes walk into the town area where they have the general stores, fish markets are out the front of your hotel. There is also some dive shops in town.

Any my favourite, the food! Oh my gosh I love the food in the Solomon Islands. they serve lobster etc for like 120SBD which is approx $ 23.00AUD. I ate lots of fish, lobster and chicken all at the hotel, good prices.

Great hotel. Staff are friendly, hilarious waitors.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Kitty&Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gizo
0.0 mi away
Imagination Island
Imagination Island
#2 of 3 in Gizo
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 8 in Honiara
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#5 of 8 in Honiara
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanalae Apartments
Sanalae Apartments
#3 of 8 in Honiara
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gizo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gizo Hotel

Address: Western Province, Gizo, Ghizo Island, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Ghizo Island > Gizo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gizo
Price Range: £63 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gizo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gizo Hotel is a Holiday Resort catering for tourists, families and people doing business in or around Gizo Island. We have modern facilities including free WIFI for patrons, Internet Cafe, outdoor swimming pool, massage house, Fishing Charter, Hire boats for guided day tours, Restaurant/Bar, full laundry and house keeping service and of course 45 modern rooms with Air-conditioning, Cable TV Flat screens 32" or 42", toilet/shower, balcony, fridge, room safe, ceiling fan. We have a team of highly trained staff that will make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. A team of ten security guards patrol the hotel 24/7, security cameras are fitted outside entrance doors for added peace of mind making the Gizo Hotel the safest accommodation available in Gizo. The Gizo Hotel is the perfect place to stay to experience the beauty that this Island and its surroundings has to offer. We are an Australian family owned hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gizo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing