We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Anniversary Meal (30 yrs)!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Moor Tavern

Old Moor Tavern
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Wombwell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pub with restaurant
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wedding Anniversary Meal (30 yrs)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had a very enjoyable meal last night
Recommend the blue cheese sauce over a tasty steak (med/rare)
Good efficient service, well presented and very filling
Still managed a pud at only £2.99 - you can't go wrong
The company wasn't bad either
Defo try again lol

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kev963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    56
    20
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Visited twice but think thats enough.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We first visited here for a friend's birthday meal. We enjoyed it and thought the food was nice so visited again as a couple at a later date. The second time we visited the food was average and nothing special. We still didn't think that our visit was too bad, however we were let down with the service. We requested to pay our bill by card but it was not clear whether the machine would be brought to our table or whether we would have to go to the bar. I asked the waitress what to do and she replied very sarcastically telling me to go to the bar.
After our first visit I recommended it to friends and did enjoy the meal, however I feel it went downhill on our return and would probably not return again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank penny2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average food but was better before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I live local so I go in here 2 or 3 times a year. It is usually pretty good. But it hasn't been as good the last visit. They brought us a pot of tea, with little cartons of UHT milk. Tea + UHT milk is not a very good tase, please serve with a little jug of milk. Some of the food wasn't really very well cooked but was well presented. Also the lights went out twice. I will return here some time in the future. Might be better when less busy

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled40-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorks
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family friendly and great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

1st class pub and restaurant, food is of the highest quality along with service to match. Well done to all at the Old Moor Tavern, keep up the great work. Look forward to visiting again and presenting you with the Trip Advisor Window Sticker.
Would advise booking as this is a very busy place. Not the first meal there and definitely won't be the last. Thanks to all at the Old Moor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHippys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Started off with garlic mushrooms, continued with mixed meat dinner, with mash! Jam sponge n custard, only complaint, too full to move afterwards!!! Good value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank devina11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Moor Tavern also viewed

Hemingfield, Barnsley
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Old Moor Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing