We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cock Inn

The Cock Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Birdwell
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely food, nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Booked here for a meal with friends Good Friday. First impressions were of a country pub out in the middle of nowhere, but it's just off the motorway. Loads of guest beers and a good atmosphere. The food was spot on with proper chips, my partners steak was cooked just as ordered. Good service from the staff too.
Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very soar faced waitress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Ate here on saturday excellent food excellent bar service only problem was we had a very miserable waitress did not crack a smile all night thought blondes were smiley except for the waitress great experience had a good laugh with young lady behind n what i think was the landlord

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul3909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Went here Friday, really good value for money. We had garlic mushroom starter to share and for mains Sweet chilli sizzler and Sweet potatoe and goats cheese pie. Everything was lovely and for the price (£17 in total) well worth it. Only thing is it does seem to fill up quite quickly I'd definately book if I was going after 5.00pm. We just happened to be early this day as both were off work.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waddlewaddle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cosy Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Found this pub by chance. We only wanted a snack but ended up having a meal, which was very good. Open all day you could order food at any time. Very pleasant cosy atmosphere with log fire. Quite small so you may have to wait for a table but worth the wait. Very friendly people - made you feel like one of a big family. Extensive but inexpensive menus, with specials board. We will certainly return when we are in the area. Wished it was nearer home so that we could make it our local.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tricia298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A real Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

What a nice treat to go to a propper pub with a homely and friendly atmosphere and which has a large selection of beers although I like to stick to my john smiths.We had a lovely meal and the portions were quite generous whilst the prices are very reasonable, the best T Bone steak iv'e had in years.Only a small pub so go early or pre book if eating.We will go back again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeithVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cock Inn also viewed

Birdwell, South Yorkshire
Hoyland, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing