We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue and great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elachi

Elachi
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Hoyland
Price range: US$25 - US$31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great venue and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had the £10 sunday menu and it was fabulous. Service was fast and 10 out of 10 for leaving the pickle tray on the table. Only negative was that the drinks are expensive and if you have certain foods they don't tell you they are extra until at the till. Bit rude if you ask me

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traceytart03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    13
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I went last night in a party of 13. The £10 four course menu is really good value but the drinks are quite expensive so still ended up spending quite alot. Service wasnt really that good they seemed to be more interested in gathering around the bar watching the match. Every drink I wanted I had to go to the bar myself for, was not once asked at the table. Also I know wine is more expensive when eating out but paying £15 for a £3 bottle of wine gutted me. The food I ordered wasn't anything special and my vegetable samosa's for starter were way too hot (spicy). Think I will try the new Indian around the corner next time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waddlewaddle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have visited Elachi several times and never been disappointed and tonight was no different. Don't know why the previous reviews are complaining. I had the Amlo chicken and my partner had the butter tikka accompanied with mushroom and nan bread - all was very nice and hot. The only complaint that I have is that a waiter came to clear my plate while my partner was still eating his poppadoms. Will be returning. The 4 course meal for £10 on Wednesday's & Sunday's are very good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank home40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Visited Wednesday for birthday meal. Staff rude and uninterested, food grey, how can a chicken tikka garlic massala be grey!!!. 1 hour wait for starters and 40 mins for main course, everyone there seemed to be in the same boat. We suspect that it's a ploy to tempt you to drink more of the overpriced drinks. Even though it's local we won't be visiting again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Went on Sunday night and had the £10 banquet. Before I had even got my coat off or even got seated the waiter was badgering us for our drinks order which I found quite annoying.
The poppadoms and pickle tray was ok. Starters were fine although my lamb chops were swimming in grease and a bit tastleless. The onion bargees were tasty.
The disappointment came with the main course. I ordered Korma ( as always..not very adventurous). I love the creamy coconut taste but I'm afraid it was absent in my dish. Again the food was tastleless and looked and tasted as if it had been 'diluted'. My husband had tikka and his dish was the same. The price included coffee but as I don't drink coffee I asked for tea. I was told that they didn't have tea so I settled for a cup of hot water.
Good price but really not worth it for the standard of the food. Found the drinks expensive too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathryn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elachi also viewed

Hoyland, South Yorkshire
Hoyland, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Elachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing