We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Quite a good curry house. Need to get there early though to get a good table'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elachi

Elachi
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Hoyland
Price range: US$25 - US$31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“'Quite a good curry house. Need to get there early though to get a good table'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Well we normally go to the Elachi lots and its quite a nice curry house. I mean don't get me wrong it's not like somewhere like Akbar's which will make you go wow but it's very decent considering all the curry houses in Barnsley. It's got a range of various meals (My favourite is the Hasnaji Flavour which is on the chef's special) and you can even ask the waitors to adjust the meal to how you want it whether its mild, normal or hot. As well as this, the staff are very friendly and always try to make sure that you are looked after very well and properly so that is one lovely thing. However, what you do need to do is get a table quickly as normally on Friday's and Saturday's it gets REALLY full. Some people can say that the atmosphere is quite dead but it is a very nice curry house and whilst it might not be the best one in Yorkshire, what you have to remember is that this curry house doesn't have much to compete with in Barnsley apart from the Dill Raj in Dodworth.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    13
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pricey but nicey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Four of us had a really nice meal on a Saturday night. The staff were very efficient and there was very little waiting around for courses. We started with the usual pickle and poppadums, then I had the Makai chicken as a starter. It was very good and tasty, not overlarge but it is a starter after all. The main course followed quickly and I had mixed jalfrezi with chips, this was very nice though not as hot as some jalfrezis I've had. The cheese and garlic naan was soft and enough for two but not very cheesy. The restaurant was clean and tidy and not over noisy. I enjoyed the food but found it a little expensive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing Special ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Went to Elachis a couple of weeks ago on a Friday. The resturaunt was more or less empty with no atmosphere. I felt as if the staff were rushing us to order and food coming out very quickly between starter and main not giving you chance to relax and enjoy your time together. I had Shish kebab which was very dry and chicken tikka for main which was very very sweet and I didnt enjoy. The restaurant itself is very nice inside but the service was poor and food was lacking. All in all its nothing special, didnt feel comfortable and will not rush to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A surprise birthday night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We set out tonight for a different restaurant and the least said in this review about that the better! However, Elachi is very close to home and we had never been so we decided to see if they had a table. There was only the two of us so easy to seat, even so the welcome was warm and friendly and helpful. The waiting staff were quick efficient friendly and full of smiles. The food was absolutely outstanding, the best Indian food we have had in a long while. The atmosphere was lovely and the meal and drinks were excellent value.

It was an unexpected visit and it saved my husband's birthday meal from disaster - we will go again and can't think why it has taken us so long to make a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank backchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great venue and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had the £10 sunday menu and it was fabulous. Service was fast and 10 out of 10 for leaving the pickle tray on the table. Only negative was that the drinks are expensive and if you have certain foods they don't tell you they are extra until at the till. Bit rude if you ask me

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traceytart03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elachi also viewed

Hoyland, South Yorkshire
Hoyland, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Elachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing