We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hay House

Hay House
Ranked #3 of 44 things to do in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Italian Renaissance villa open for public touring.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

This house is impressive! I had never been in mansion prior to this. My husband and were both in awe. The main floor is unreal; the restoration is immaculate. I loved the contrast between the totally restored main floor and the unrestored second floor. The lady who gave the tour knew a phenomenal amount of history of the house and the area. My husband and I were lucky enough to have her all to ourselves the day that we stopped by. As a point of interest, she told us that they do special tours where you can go inside the walls to see how the house built. You can also see the top two or three levels of the house on the special tour. The regular tour only shows you the basement, first floor and second
floor. I would love to go back in 10 years and see the restoration progress on the second floor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedPony138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    56
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
993 reviews
588 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,014 helpful votes
“Great History and Interesting Architecture through Three Generations of Owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a very lovely house with advanced technology for its time. The restoration has been painstakingly done and the first floor is jaw dropping. For example, curved pocket doors and ornate moldings are found throughout. The one hour tour with a guide is well worth it. We took an hour before the tour to read the material in the lowest level which made the tour more worthwhile. Worth a stop and a look.

We found several different open times in various websites. In general, they are open 10:00-4:00 except Sunday with tours on the hour (lasting 45 minutes). The house is not air conditioned so the upstairs can be pretty hot.

If this review was helpful please click the button below the review.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Really enjoyed the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My dad took me on a tour of this place when I was a kid. I did the same for mine this year. This place in incredibly cool and interesting. My 9-year old loved it.

We did the basic tour. My only complaint is that the in-depth tour is limited to certain times and at a much greater cost.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Beautiful & memorable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Like a little Baltimore house. An amazing old home with a rich history. If you can, go during the holidays. It is decorated in the period of history.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank asmith1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
197 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Spectacular unique Italianate antibellum mansion that is a major architectural triumph for the period and is far more elegant th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

This palatial 5-story Italianate mansion has been lovingly restored over the past 20 years by the Georgia Trust with architectural features that amaze the visitor. Knowledgeable docents conduct tours almost hourly and many have witnessed the multi-million dollar renovations (? $32 million) which have been painstakingly made over the years. This home is of interest to adults and mature children but would probably bore most youngsters for the 45-60 minutes for the house tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank H S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing