We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What Macon Needed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macon Marriott City Center
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I was a guest here on Monday evening, March 8, 2010 and from check-in to check-out, my experience was top notch. Bath & Body Works bath amenities, adequate lighting, iHome unit for iPod--the little things that make being away from home comfortable. After spending just one evening, this is my hotel of choice in the Macon area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlanta_travel_diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2010

this property is fairly new so the "shine" has not worn off this penny. excellent location, large rooms, very friendly and professional staff. dani at the front desk provided service that i felt was way above and beyond my expectations. it amazed me that she, as well as a few others, always addressed me by my name. convenient location, next to coliseum/city center and a hospital is visible from the property.
i would stay here without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idriveyousafely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I got a really good rate on a room through my boss, otherwise this hotel would have been out of my price range. I stayed in a room with a king bed. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was very well-kept. I do believe the hotel had only been open for a few weeks when I stayed.

When I got to my room I found that my tv wasn't working. I called down to the front desk and they sent someone up right away. They informed me that they had been having problems all day and they would try to fix it soon or move me to another room. It took about 45 minutes for them to fix it but they were very understanding and even offered me a complimentary appetizer in their restaurant though I turned it down since I was meeting a friend for dinner.

The bathroom was very large and had plenty of towels and very nice toiletries.

The staff at the hotel were very, very friendly and accommodating. The lady at the front desk remembered my name and said hello to me whenever she saw me.

This hotel has lots of little extras that make it nicer than others I have stayed in. For example, there are adjustable reading lights in the headboard and you can plug your iPod into the alarm to listen to it. The desk was very large as was the closet.

My only complaint about the hotel would be that they charge $9.95 per day for internet access. I guess they feel like they can charge so much since it is a higher-end hotel and people will be willing to pay for it. However, I have stayed in other cheaper hotels in Macon that offered free wi-fi.

That being said, I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers. The room was very nice and the hotel staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooduniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

This hotel had been open for about a month when I stayed, and everyone seemed to be learning on the job. I'm Platinum in Marriott's program, so I get a gift (bottle of wine), but the desk clerk failed to notice I was Platinum, so I had to tell him. When the wine arrived, I wasn't able to enjoy it, because they failed to bring along a corkscrew. A bill, for someone else, was waiting under my door when I arrived. Soon, another one was slipped under the same door, for yet another person. No one seemed to know how that happened. The evening hostess in the concierge lounge was delightful. The morning one was well-meaning but intrusive. I was staying under a special rate which included $100 of Marriott money to spend at a later date. I asked about this when I checked in, knowing I'd be in a hurry leaving. But the desk clerk had never heard of the program and wouldn't check on it for me, referring me to the morning clerk. The following morning I went to check out, but no one had heard of the program, so I waited for perhaps 10 minutes while they investigated. Eventually, the certificates were found.

As this indicates, service is a bit awkward, suggesting a lack of training and poor management, but the people are sweet, and the building is attractive. The gym is big and has a good selection of weights. Parking is free. The location is in next to the coliseum (a sports venue), a hospital (not walking distance), and a center for small meetings. All of these are isolated in an area surrounded by shuttered commercial buildings, so the views are pretty bleak.

The thing is... Macon really doesn't offer much choice. This is the only four-star full service hotel. It has the potential to be the best such hotel in Georgia south of Atlanta if it ever gets its act together.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack_3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We had the good fortune to stay at this hotel a week after it opened. The hotel itself is just stunning! Directly off the lobby there is an executive office with computer stations, printers, etc. that you can utilize to access the internet. Nice (but a little pricey) restaurant. Hotel staff is very friendly. Rooms are wonderful - large, nicely furnished, extra large desk with full hookups for internet, etc. Nice sized closet too. Decent sized pool and very nice gym with several treadmills, ellipticals, rowing machines, etc.

This hotel has an enclosed walkway to the Macon Coliseum it adjoins - very convenient for visitors to the coliseum. Not much else within walking distance except for the hospital. You'll need to drive for other dining options.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blcpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Macon Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuelagericke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macon hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
7.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Macon
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-475
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Macon West
9.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Macon - North
1.2 mi away
1842 Inn
1842 Inn
#6 of 67 in Macon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macon Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macon Marriott City Center

Address: 240 Coliseum Dr, Macon, GA 31217-3806
Region: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Macon
Price Range: £71 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macon Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Macon Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Macon City Hotel Macon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing