We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gr8 southern hospitality”
Review of 1842 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1842 Inn
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia, USA
1 review
“Gr8 southern hospitality”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Service was awesome and the staff made sure we felt at home. We got a tour of the entire premises and was not disappointed at all. It's convenient to downtown in the historic area. It's also convenient to interstate. It everything anyone would want in the historic area.

Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in historic area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodgerxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    28
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
139
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Sadly, we had only one comfortable night at this lovely home. It was so warm, and inviting. I love the dreamy feeling of going back in time when in a home such as this. Breakfast was excellent. We passed on the evening appetizers so as not to spoil our dinner out. We would have loved to lounge on the veranda or in the courtyard but the weather did not permit. Service was attentive but unobtrusive, very warm and in earnest. If ever we have the chance to travel to Macon again, we will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hapitrails2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, MA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The 1842 Inn was certainly the best place for relaxing out on the soaring columned porch drinking coffee or tea during the day. In the evening there were always wonderful treats to nibble. In front of the gas fireplace was a wonderful spot for breakfast. We wanted to have breakfast in the courtyard, but it was too cool in the morning. We stayed in the Bartram room, which needs a re-work on the AC/Heating unit. The compressor was noisy as it cycled on and off during the night, but we also are not accustom to mechanical noises from AC/Heating units in our bedroom at home. The service was excellent with the staff being very polite and checking to be sure we did not need anything.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hosea49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I have been staying in clone chain hotel room after clone chain hotel room. What a respite this was. Beautiful large room, comfortable chairs, 4 poster bed. Perfectly appointed bath. Yes, this is what travel should be. Breakfast in sitting room with soft classical music piped in drowning out any outside traffic noise.

Room Tip: I like staying in the main house of the Inn, although there is an adjacent building with additional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Beautiful house, well appointed rooms and friendly helpful staff and nothing was too much trouble. It was very relaxng to sit in a rocking chair on the lovely verandah. Highly recommended. We arrived on a Sunday and had not been warned that virtually everything in Macon closes. Fortunately we found just one eatery - not sure what we would have done otherwise! The following day was a little livelier although we were the only visitors to the excellent visitor centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splatterscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The House and grounds are beautiful. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Loved the beautifully furnished common area rooms downstairs. When we were there they were very tastefully decorated for Fall and Halloween. Cocktail Hour appetizers were delicious and plentiful. They have a cash bar, but we had our own wine. They provided wine glasses and we sat out on the massive front porch, which has several seating areas. Our room was large and well appointed. The breakfast was delivered to our room and was great. This Inn was a perfect halfway point in our trip from Florida to Highlands. We will do it again next year, but will plan to stay another night or two to enjoy the Inn and surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I've just read the last few reviews and can't believe no-one has mentioned the veranda/porch. As everyone has said the hotel is excellent and the service is exemplary, but the we spent most of our time rocking in our chairs on the large veranda with a glass of wine, enjoying the delicious complimentary hors d'oeuvres. If you are looking for slick minimalist surroundings this isn't for you but if it is character and nice little touches you want then stay at the 1842. On the advice of Trip Advisor we asked for a room in the main house and had the John Gresham room which was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annelizabethSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macon hotels
8.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Macon - North
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
1.2 mi away
Macon Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-475
1.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites Macon Mercer University
7.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Macon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1842 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1842 Inn

Property: 1842 Inn
Address: 353 College St, Macon, GA 31201-1636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Macon
#12 Business Hotel in Macon
#13 Family Hotel in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1842 Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1842 Inn blends the amenities of a grand hotel and the ambiance of a country inn. The guest rooms and public areas of the inn dwell within a Greek Revival antebellum house and an adjoining Victorian house that share a quaint courtyard and gardens. The nineteen guest rooms, parlors, and library are tastefully designed with fine English antiques and paintings, oriental carpets, tapestries and elaborate draperies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 1842 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1842 Hotel Macon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing