We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Stay in Macon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1842 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1842 Inn
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
“Best Stay in Macon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful... I went to the 1842 Inn as part of my 25 year anniversary Travels... I stayed in the Macon Room... this place is Amazing, and the Staff is simply amazing and very helpful. Loved everything about this place... and it is only 15 miles away from Juliette Georgia which is where the movie Fried Green Tomatoes was filmed... we at at the Whistle Stop Cafe... Excellent

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    26
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
129
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I drive I75 frequently. We decided to stay at the 1842 Inn this trip because it was in a convenient place to stop. Macon is going to become a regular stop for us now. The Inn is only about 5 minutes off the highway, and it's far, far better than staying in some chain hotel on the interstate. Our room, Mercer, was huge. It was well furnished, clean and attractive. The bathroom was dated, but hey, the house is 170 years old! It was July, but we were able to eat breakfast outside on the patio, which we enjoyed. Breakfast was good, but not super special. The only problems at 1842 are problems common to all these old inns. Creaky floors, funny plumbing, few electrical outlets and such. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the place and will stay there again. But, readers should understand that it is an old building.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParrishGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stopped at the 1842 Inn in Macon GA on our way back home to Atlanta. It is in the Historic District of Macon and surrounded by many other old Southern mansions. It is convenient to the downtown area and close to many nice restaurants. Our room was furnished with antiques but with upgraded beds and baths. Our bed was very comfortable and we really enjoyed a good night's sleep. We stayed in the 2nd house to avoid many stairs and the patio/garden area has the potential of being a beautiful area in which to dine or just relax. This is a Select Registry Inn so we knew it would be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I took my daughter here on a trip from Atlanta to Tallahassee. Fell in love with the neighborhood right away! Warm welcome and fantastic hospitality. There are complimentary Horderves and a cash bar (generous pour on the wine). Went into town, which is extremely close, to the Barefoot Tavern for dinner and had the crab cakes and salmon salad. Funny because we're from the Northwest...anyway. It was great! Good service too. The town seems to roll up the sidewalks at 8PM on a Monday so nothing much going on. Went back to the Inn and had warm chocolate chip cookies. Next morning had a fab breakfast downstairs in the parlor. Tried the grits withe bacon eggs- lovely! Went for a walk around the neighborhood to check out the surrounding houses. I recommend doing that if you appreciate architecture and style. I will definitely stay here again when I'm in Macon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tikalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our drive down to Florida. The home is absolutely beautiful and the staff is very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast in the morning was very good and was served outside in a very beautifully landscaped patio. The biggest complaint is that when the staff member was showing us the rooms, one bedroom had a roach crawling on the floor and the room we stayed in had two roaches in the bathroom. I also felt like the price was too high compared to other bed and breakfasts we have stayed in (none of which have ever had roaches).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This B&B oozes charm and personality. Gracious and helpful staff make you feel at home. Our room (Mercer) was large and comfortable. The bathroom has fluffy, peachy towels, so much nicer than the standard white. Four-poster bed was comfortable, even the pillows. Wifi worked well in the room. A tiny table parked in between the two chairs in the seating area would be welcome for a glass or wine or cup of coffee to relax with. It rained most of our visit, so no time spent in the garden or on the veranda, but the luscious smell of flowers greeted you from the grounds as you came and went.

Evening hospitality in the parlor included a small spread of hors-d'oeuvres and cash bar. The warm artichoke dip was fantastic; if no one else had been around, I would have eaten the whole container with a spoon. I also had a delicious mint julep, in the traditional silver cup, while enjoying conversation with other guests. It was the perfect end to a long day on the road.

Breakfast, delivered to the room after a call to make sure we were ready for it, was good. The scrambled eggs were fluffy, the muffin smelled wonderful, maybe gingerbread (it was my son's, so I don't know how it tasted, but he said it was good and he ate it all). My egg, bacon, cheese thing was cooked well, nice and fluffy, but with the first bite, all I noticed were the onions.

The 1842 Inn was built in 1842, and you can see signs of that throughout, from the heavy doors, abundance of small fireplaces, high ceilings, and woodwork. Unfortunately, one side effect of age is the creaking of the wood floors. Because we were on the second floor, no one bothered us, but when I walked across the room, I hoped no one was trying to sleep below us. That is a small thing compared to the overall charm of this inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbleslt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
163 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The personal service and the homely historic setting were the clear highlights of our stay at 1842. College Street is definitely worth a stroll, for the wonderful local architecture. There were some lovely extra touches at the inn: early evening hors-d'oeuvres and a homely bar built into the sitting room. Check-in and evening service could possibly have been smoother if there had been an extra pair of hands on the staff, but this was a cosy B&B experience and so we were very happy with what we got. Breakfast in our room was decent enough, although given the price of the room, we might have expected a little more quality. We stayed in the old (main) building, and the air conditioning was somewhat noisy. Plus, anyone wishing to take a drink on the garden terrace would be well advised to pack insect repellent. There is wi-fi but we didn't use it. Not a five-star hotel, but definitely a five-star B&B, and we intend to return.

Room Tip: Booking on the inn's own web page means that you can choose your exact room on the basis of phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanikoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macon hotels
8.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Macon - North
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-475
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-75 North
1.2 mi away
Macon Marriott City Center
1.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites Macon Mercer University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1842 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1842 Inn

Property: 1842 Inn
Address: 353 College Street, Macon, GA 31201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Macon
#12 Business Hotel in Macon
#13 Family Hotel in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1842 Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1842 Inn blends the amenities of a grand hotel and the ambiance of a country inn. The guest rooms and public areas of the inn dwell within a Greek Revival antebellum house and an adjoining Victorian house that share a quaint courtyard and gardens. The nineteen guest rooms, parlors, and library are tastefully designed with fine English antiques and paintings, oriental carpets, tapestries and elaborate draperies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your 1842 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1842 Hotel Macon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing