We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very confusing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
America's Best Inn Macon
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The original Motel 6 in Macon, whilst still painted up in Motel 6 colours and laid out like Motel 6's everywhere is now an "Inns of America" - once you drive down the road to the current Motel its fine. The Asians running the motel are very vague about the change and seem to pretend that it has always been a Motel 6 (?) Nevertheless, our room 107 was clean and had a microwave a fridge, an attractive vanity unit with a soap dish (very unusual), two mirrors - very handy - attractive décor and much better sheets than is usual. So no complaints from us - and we tend to use Motel 6 properties around 60 nights of the year.
Why do other guests expect breakfast at these prices ?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

been a while ago since i've been here, but it wasn't a very good experience. The hotel is not in a good neighborhood and that made me a bit nervous staying there. the hotel needs updating. the room smelled aweful and the carpet wasn't clean. It is a very cheap hotel and you get what you pay for i guess.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Based on the other reviews, I expected the worst for this place. I was pleasantly surprised to find a clean and comfortable room. It looked to have been recently updated with fresh paint and carpet. There was a light out above the sink, but otherwise it was a great deal for $30. The neighborhoods around the place aren't that great, but at no time did I feel unsafe. If you want just a place to lay your head for a night and have a hot shower in the morning, then you can't beat $30 for this Motel 6.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Filthy, old , just plain gross! No breakfast, no toiletries, one towel per person, decor umm well, looked like someone decorated while on acid.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristyjojo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This place was awful. After 10 hours of driving we arrived here at 1am just looking for a bed to sleep in. All arrangements were were made through bulletproof glass with an unwelcoming and rude staff member who barely said a word other than credit card. When we entered the room it felt like 100 degrees and it smelled of cigarette smoke. The TV did not work nor did the Internet. Cleanliness was ok in the room but the shower probably hadn't Been cleaned in ages. Overall bad experience. Neighborhood also appears questionable.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheeseheadMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We had a similar experience as the previous reviewer. In the middle of the night someone was unlocking our door, as they were assigned the same room that we were. If we hadn't had the chain locked, they would have walked right in. My guess is every key works on every lock in this motel. Really run down place, the phone didn't work, only one working lightbulb in our room - very old, worn out and broken down furnishings. We stopped here because we were exhausted from driving and our options with a dog were limited. In retrospect, we would have rather slept in the car.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
Thank midwestmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

When we checked in on Sunday, the first room we were given was not cleaned (beds unmade, dirty towels on the floor in the bathroom,etc). Oh and the lights didn't work. The second room was better and was actually clean. Around three a.m. someone with a key tried to enter our room. I thank god had put the security latch on and held the door with my body until the person went away. I called the front desk and the gentleman who answered said he was trying to check our a/c. I asked him why and he said that I called him. Tried to sleep but didn't. The next morning three ladies who were staying at the hotel were at the front desk complaining that someone entered their room around one and they scared him off. He also had a key. The front desk was uncaring to say the least and basically said mistakes happen. These girls complained and tried to speak to a manager. They were told that the manager was not in. After they left and I was checking out, the manager came out of the back room and asked if the complaining girls had left. Needless to say I decided to take this issue up with the home office and not them. Something is going on there and I would not recommend that women traveling alone stay there.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank mcmahon7803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macon hotels
0.3 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#37 of 67 in Macon
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Value Place Macon West
Value Place Macon West
#29 of 67 in Macon
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 67 in Macon
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Macon West
Super 8 Macon West
#14 of 67 in Macon
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Macon
Ramada Macon
#33 of 67 in Macon
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Inn Macon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inn Macon

Address: 4991 Harrison Rd, I-475 at US 80 East, Exit #3, Macon, GA 31206-4135 (Formerly Motel 6 Macon I-475)
Region: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Price Range: £36 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your America's Best Inn Macon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Macon
Motel 6 Macon
Macon Motel 6
Macon Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing