We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Marriott standards - keep driving!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Macon West
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not up to Marriott standards - keep driving!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I think it's time for the Marriott corporation to take a visit to this hotel. The entire property was worn and tattered and completely lacking the high standards and touches that you'd expect from a Marriott property. It all started with our difficulty finding the hotel as the lights on their sign were half out and the remainder dimmed. The carpets were worn, furniture tattered, and decor lacking. Our room overlooked the pool and it looked as the pool and white furniture hadn't been scrubbed in years. There was algae growing on the top of the hot tub and towels were heaped on the ground. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akinsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    34
    40
    34
    24
See reviews for
56
43
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My family consists of my husband, 5 year old daughter, twelve year old daughter, and myself. We don't have very high expectations in a hotel; clean room, decent bed, warm shower and we hate happy!

We arrived at about 10:30 pm after 15 hours of driving from Wisconsin. We got our keys, and then went to get ice
and the ice machine was broken. We asked Octavia (the extremely nice receptionist) if there was another and she said no, and apologized saying she has called maintenance for the last couple of days to fix it and there has been no response. (No big deal, just a bit frustrating but we didn't mind.) Our room was #316. It seemed fine, we put the little one to bed and I started the shower. I ran it for 10 minutes and couldn't get any hot water. I called down and Octavia said to come down and she would move us and give us a new key. I went down, got a key to #325, went back up and grabbed our little one (sleeping) and carried her to the new room. Which wouldn't open. Octavia then came up, tried the master key and found that the door was jammed shut. She was very apologetic but at this point we are beyond annoyed. She gave us room #323. We got in with the kids and noticed immediately the "non-smoking" room just reeked of cigarette smoke. Too tired to argue we went to sleep. In the morning I went to take a shower and it was thankfully nice and warm. After give minutes it turned scalding hot (on it's own) to the point I screamed and had to jump out of the shower while it was still running. My back felt quite scorched. They refunded the room in the morning and the receptionists admitted they had to send three people to other hotels lady night for water reasons.

I have to say this is enough for my family and I to never want to stay at a Mariott ever again. We were so very displeased with this stay. We travel at least four times per year, across the country often. I think this should definitely be addressed before someone more impatient than myself would choose to take something like this even further. I am a business owner in Wisconsin, and I would be mortified if I heard this about my own business.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It looks tired, the desk chair was heavily stained. Room was okay but probably wouldn't stay here again. They desperately need a face lift on this property. Noise from the highway was unusually loud; I don't know why. Hard to pick a room that isn't close to the highway. You can do better. To its credit, it is very convenient.

Room Tip: Try to stay as far from I-475 as you possibly can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 414Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is not what I expect of a Marriott property. Pool wasn't working, towels in room were wet, wi-fi not available, carpet filthy, bed is what I expect from a Motel 6, curtains falling from window. Maybe Marriott is on the downslide? Never again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were tired and stopped here off I-75. Good location, nice and quiet. The staff was nice and the room was fine. The location is close to some good restaurants,,,,we ate at the 17th street Barbeque and it was tops! Got the recommendation from the Hotel Staff. Some other good places in the area as this is close to the college. Didn't stick around for the free breakfast but the morning manager did have coffee ready at 4:15am so we took off early! Overall a good stay and I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickson, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this Hotel for one night on the bypass.. Glad we did .. It was clean . The front desk staff was very friendly.. Great breakfast in the morning.. Quiet room , comfortable beds.. Will stay again.

Room Tip: We had first floor.. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way to Florida. This hotel is kept decently clean and the staff is very friendly but is needs a lot of repair and up keeping. In our room the TV did not work, the toilet did not flush completely and you had to work at it to get it to flush at all. Beds are comfortable and the breakfast was kept full in the morning. I would not stay here again on our next trip south but would gamble on another hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allen0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macon hotels
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Macon
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Macon
Comfort Suites Macon
#25 of 67 in Macon
22 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 67 in Macon
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Macon
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Macon
5.4 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites of Macon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Macon West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Macon West

Property: Fairfield Inn Macon West
Address: 110 Plantation Inn Dr, Macon, GA 31210-2075
Region: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Macon West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn Macon, situated right off of I-475, a perfect location for you to rest while traveling through Atlanta to Florida or to GA beaches. Convenient to Macon State, Wesleyan, and Mercer University, the hotel is a perfect choice for you to stay while visiting with your student. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn Macon West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn By Marriott Macon West Hotel Macon
Fairfield Inn Macon
Fairfield Macon
Macon Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing