We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hideaway weekend”
Review of Mt Lyford Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waiau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt Lyford Lodge
Auckland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hideaway weekend”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

If you want to stay away from the noise of touristy Kaikoura, it is the place to be. Located 50 min away from the coast it is a great place to relax, even in summer. Check out their horse riding package - a very good deal and takes place vitually next door. The rooms are nice and clean, a wee small though but this does not cause major discomfort. The bed is comfortable and the bedding is high quality. Fell in love with their dog.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuliaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    7
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

A must stop on your South Island adventure!
The couple who run NZ’s largest log house accommodation are perfectly suited to do so. Gardner Rob keeps the grounds wedding picture perfect, while Masterchef Lisa cooks up an amazing array of food catering for all diet requirements.
Accommodation options to suit your budget – self-contained studios, bunkrooms, camper parking. Popular wedding venue.
On different summer tours we have alternately sat in the spa on New Years day surrounded by snow and the next year enjoyed a bottle of wine while having a serious petonque competition (my winning overhand throw was caught on camera).
Don’t forget to include Snow their gorgeous Samoyed dog in your holiday snaps!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

NZ's biggest log cabin. Clean, comfortable but basic rooms, friendly helpful hosts complete with huge white fluffy dog called Snow. Nice bar/restaurant area with good food and blazing log fire. Not much to do in the area out of ski season but not too far from Hamner Springs.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

You can't do much better than this place. The rooms are warm and comfortable; the restaurant has tasty food, a good bar selection, and a hot fire; and there's hot tubs to soak away the pain if you overdo it on the ski slopes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casualtyward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed here for the night before skiing at Mt Lyford. This place was awesome. The lodge is made out of logs and has a highly inviting huge log fire to sit in front of & enjoy mulled wine. The lodge caters for everyone from private rooms, backpackers & there's even space outside to park your campervan or tent with toilets & showers a short distance away. Our hosts were Rob & Lisa, a husband & wife team who went out of their way to make sure our stay was fantastic. The food was awesome for both dinner & breakfast & we couldn't turn down the use of the outside spas to sit, relax & enjoy the night sky.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenusNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

delightful place that is run by a great husband and wife team who go out of their way to make your stay 100% - great meals, comfort beds, fantastic bar and a selection of rooms to suit the budget. Summer or Winter, doesn't matter as each season provides things to do. We head away for a weekend escape - the lodge is located on the scenic highway...a must for any car buff

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toja69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We came across this lodge 3 years ago and stopped in for lunch, since then its been on our "must return" list. We recently spent 3 relaxing days at the lodge and didnt want to leave. The location is awesome, even though we didnt see it in the heart of winter covered in snow, it is still very beautiful. We had the lodge all to ourselves for one night and were treated like royalty. Lisa and Rob are amazing, the food is to die for, plenty of it and reasonably priced. All areas were kept immaculate and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. There is no TV, radio or cell phone coverage and that added to the appeal - a real chance to escape and unwind. There are plenty of areas for walking/tramping, lots of games and books to keep you amused. The huge open fire is wonderful and the lodge has a very warm, inviting feel. We loved every minute of our stay, fell in love with the resident dog called Snow, and would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auckland_Kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mt Lyford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Lyford Lodge

Property: Mt Lyford Lodge
Address: 10 Mt Lyford Forest Drive | Inland Kaikoura Road, Waiau, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Waiau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Waiau
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mt Lyford Lodge Accommodation - we have a variety of options to cater for a wide range of needs and desires. 6 Motel Rooms: $150 per night for 2 people $20 per night per extra person These rooms have an en-suite and kitchenette Each room has a queen bed. Extra people - 3 rooms have a bunk and 3 have a single bed 4 Double Rooms: $90 per night for 2 people $20 per night per extra person Queen bed and a single Shared kitchen and bathroom facilities 3 Bunk Rooms: $30 per person per night. Two of our bunk rooms sleep 12 & the other sleeps 9. Shared kitchen and bathroom facilities. Campervan sites: $25 per night for 2 people $15 night per extra person 10 powered sites, access to kitchen and bathroom facilities Tent Sites: $10 per person with access to kitchen & bathroom facilities Something Extra: Spa pools - $5 per person per day for those who are staying at the Lodge and $7 for casual visitors. New Owners: We welcome you all Angela & Tony Hunt and Jenny Yeoman ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing