We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Accommodation”
Review of Mt Lyford Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waiau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt Lyford Lodge
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Noisy Accommodation”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I Know sleeping in a log cabin could be noisy when it is full or even just a few guests but as we were the only guests and I had asked for a quite room and got one well so I thought it turns out the managers quarters are above
and they should put carpet down rather than what sounds like a polished wooden floor.... they have a big dog that moves around all night obviously trying to find a comfortable floor board could try socks or mittens on the dog. Having said that the managing couple were very friendly / pleasant and with a young baby that we did not hear a peep out of.
The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable with well laundered sheets A+
The Choice on the menu was a little limited and when asked if I could have fries instead of a bed of potato and herb mash with capsicum I was turned down and fries were on the menu, sometimes you just want what you want nothing fancy.
I think it was about 9pm when we were getting vibes that they wanted to shut the bar and there was another customer that had driven there for a drink at his local got one down his neck and he knew not to ask for another and I do think he wanted one, poor chap
Would have loved breakfast but as we had to leave earlier than 9am we could not.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    7
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanmer Springs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We love going to Mount Lyford Lodge! The owners make us feel very welcome and the rest of the staff is great too. The building is absolutely stunning and worth stopping for. Great food and good cofee. An absolute must to stop in at this lodge between Hanmer Springs and Kaikoura.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

A great location with a more than pleasant timber log structureand the views to Mt Lyford covered in snow are memorable.

The shame was that the food did not match the surroundings.

The soup was interesting but it should be described as having chilli and the Pork Pie was just largely thick pastry and a minmal filling.

The food was not bad but nothing to write home about and it is just a shame.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cristiano-barca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Nestled at the base of Mt Lyford this very large log cabin offered simple but effeicient accommodation and food. The large fireplace and bar were certainly a good focal point. This is a not a luxury experience but it never promised to be either. It is a very convieniet place to lay your head and get some food if you are out that way.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

If you want to stay away from the noise of touristy Kaikoura, it is the place to be. Located 50 min away from the coast it is a great place to relax, even in summer. Check out their horse riding package - a very good deal and takes place vitually next door. The rooms are nice and clean, a wee small though but this does not cause major discomfort. The bed is comfortable and the bedding is high quality. Fell in love with their dog.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuliaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

A must stop on your South Island adventure!
The couple who run NZ’s largest log house accommodation are perfectly suited to do so. Gardner Rob keeps the grounds wedding picture perfect, while Masterchef Lisa cooks up an amazing array of food catering for all diet requirements.
Accommodation options to suit your budget – self-contained studios, bunkrooms, camper parking. Popular wedding venue.
On different summer tours we have alternately sat in the spa on New Years day surrounded by snow and the next year enjoyed a bottle of wine while having a serious petonque competition (my winning overhand throw was caught on camera).
Don’t forget to include Snow their gorgeous Samoyed dog in your holiday snaps!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

NZ's biggest log cabin. Clean, comfortable but basic rooms, friendly helpful hosts complete with huge white fluffy dog called Snow. Nice bar/restaurant area with good food and blazing log fire. Not much to do in the area out of ski season but not too far from Hamner Springs.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mt Lyford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Lyford Lodge

Property: Mt Lyford Lodge
Address: 10 Mt Lyford Forest Drive | Inland Kaikoura Road, Waiau, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Waiau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Waiau
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mt Lyford Lodge Accommodation - we have a variety of options to cater for a wide range of needs and desires. 6 Motel Rooms: $150 per night for 2 people $20 per night per extra person These rooms have an en-suite and kitchenette Each room has a queen bed. Extra people - 3 rooms have a bunk and 3 have a single bed 4 Double Rooms: $90 per night for 2 people $20 per night per extra person Queen bed and a single Shared kitchen and bathroom facilities 3 Bunk Rooms: $30 per person per night. Two of our bunk rooms sleep 12 & the other sleeps 9. Shared kitchen and bathroom facilities. Campervan sites: $25 per night for 2 people $15 night per extra person 10 powered sites, access to kitchen and bathroom facilities Tent Sites: $10 per person with access to kitchen & bathroom facilities Something Extra: Spa pools - $5 per person per day for those who are staying at the Lodge and $7 for casual visitors. New Owners: We welcome you all Angela & Tony Hunt and Jenny Yeoman ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing