We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Reviewed 10 March 2014

All around great experience. We would recommend if you can spending the little extra to have the water view! Absolutely breathe taking, and so relaxing. The room was very nicely done with good amenities. The only thing I would say is after the inside work is done they should redo and brighten up the exterior.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,725 - 1,731 of 2,244 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here over the weekend for a city Girls Basketball Tourney. The views were great. Thats about where the positive ends. The customer service and front desk staff at this hotel is so poor, I was put-off from the minute we checked in. I had to ask simple questions that should have been addressed at check-in. I had to 'seek out' the answers to basic questions like "What time is breakfast served on the weekend?" Three calls to the Front Desk, 3 different answers. We never could get the iPad, and iPod connected to the "free Wifi," and no help in that area from Front Desk either. "Keep Trying" was all I got. Maybe if the 'Guest Services' book in the room had listed any of this information, I would forgive the poor customer service. But again, nothing helpful anywhere in this hotel. When I booked at Redlion.com, I paid for "free Hot breakfast." We get to the restaurant, and find that you are expected to leave a tip, and upon check-out we had been charged for "menu items" at $7 a piece plus tax. What menu? We were never given a menu. It was a buffet, help yourself, and were never even visited by a waiter or waitress. But I am supposed to leave a tip? For what? We checked out yesterday, I was given a copy of my bill, but the amount on it doesnt match what was taken out of my account. I am waiting a day or two to see if that has been fixed, due to the both-day breakfast errors and the tax charged on a "free Hot breakfast." Great Location for the area, everything else was way below average.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 61rachela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn M, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

The experience you had with our team is extremely disturbing. I can only imagine the frustration and disappointment you must have felt! We review every guest comment and address each of them with our staff and team leads. Our goal is to provide a comfortable stay to every guest and clearly we failed to do that during your stay. Please be assured that the issues you experienced with the Front Desk staff will be looked into and addressed accordingly. Providing exemplary guest satisfaction is not a goal, it's a standard. To that end, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and bring these issues to our attention. It is only through candid comments such as yours that we are made aware of short-comings. While I know it doesn't erase the negative experience you had with us, I do hope you will allow us another opportunity to have you as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

A group of 6 adults stayed here for 1 night. The location was good, and the rooms with a water view were definitely worth the extra money.
The service was lacing. There was no soap in any of the rooms! I have never had this happen before. When I called the front desk they said "yeah we're out". And that was it!
There was a grocery store a few blocks away, so I am mot sure why they didn't send someone over to get soap. All 3 of our rooms had no soap, so I would have to assume all the other rooms had none, either.
I found their lack of concern about this a little baffling.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigtravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn M, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We take all feed-back from guests extremely seriously. To that end, I have shared your comments with our Rooms Manager and we are a bit confused. We have not been out of soap in our guestrooms, so we are very concerned and confused about the experience you described. We are committed to resolving guest issues and would welcome the opportunity to speak further with you about this. We do hope that you will contact us directly or allow us another opportunity to be of service and provide the level of comfort you have come to expect and deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Dogs are allowed in the motel. There are no designated areas for pet owners. They are scattered throughout the motel with non-pet owners. When I was walking down the hall, several rooms had dogs yipping in them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were really looking forward to staying at the red lion however when we went to check in Cassie the front desk agent was sour, rude, no smile and no help. We looked at a room which we liked so decided we'd stay but when my husband went to get a room Cassie was once again rude and uninviting.
Too bad that they lose business because they are unable to hire a professional staff!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ksmith197340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn M, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We take all customer issues very seriously. I'm sorry to hear our front office staff did not handle your interaction with professionalism. Please accept my apologies --- I can only imagine the frustration and disappointment you must have felt. While I realize it does not erase your experience, I do hope you will allow us a chance to make it up to you on your next stay.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Poor signage to the Hotel (very large restaurant sign in front of hotel instead of Red Lion). Partial renovation of the building - the outside is dated and unremarkable. The restaurant is gaunt and the food barely edible (for fear of food borne illness). During our stay the hallway and people above us were very loud (this lasted for nearly 4 hours - even after calling front desk. It only stopped after threatening to call Police for disturbance). Pros: in room fridge and microwave - bathroom was clean and the view of the water and pier was very nice (excluding the roadway and walking trail directly in front of your room window - lacks privacy). Over priced and over rated - Great Water View with Poor Amenities (especially the Crab House and the outside decor).

Room Tip: First floor water view isn't worth listening to the guest above you and there is a road way and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn M, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you very much for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the beautiful water view but I am sorry to hear about the poor experience you had at the restaurant as well as your dismay at the outdoor décor of the Hotel. We take all of our guest’s comments seriously as they assist us in providing a better customer experience. To that end, we will act to rectify the negative points you mentioned. That said, we do hope you will be staying with us again so we can prove our ability to exceed your expectations.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel was surprisingly in line with larger, more urban than I expected. Linens were nice, everything clean. I would stay again... Maybe a few days now that I know Port Angeles is so lovely and accommodations nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and for being a guest at our hotel!

I hope that we get to see you here again!

Warm regards,

Namaste C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
1.6 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
258 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#14 of 16 in Port Angeles
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Address: 221 N Lincoln St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-2920
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range: £50 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles has been setting the standard for Olympic Peninsula hospitality for over 30 years. Situated on the shores of Hollywood Beach overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca, we are one block from the town center and steps away from ferries leaving daily for Victoria, B.C. Our unique location is one of the most scenic the Northwest has to offer. Nearby you'll find great shopping and the many natural attractions of Olympic National Park, including rainforests and beaches. Hiking, golfing, fishing, and skiing are also close by.Many of our 186 spacious guestrooms and suites have balconies overlooking the harbor and feature Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and airport shuttle, as well as microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms feature coffee makers, complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and cable TV with Encore. When it's time to relax, we also have an outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center.The Port Angeles CrabHouse and Lounge serves up the best in seafood and steaks. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 3,010 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Our superior staff and shoreline location, make the Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles the right choice, whether you are on the Olympic Peninsula for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Port Angeles
Port Angeles Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing