We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and smelly hotel. Convenient location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The staff is very friendly, but this hotel is old and the rooms still smell of stale smoke. We asked to change rooms because our original room had such a strong smell we were worried they would think we smoked in the room. The new room was clean, but it looked a little worn and old: The carpets were stained, the bathroom had some black growth around the little window in the shower, etc.
I don't think this Red Lion is worth the price unless you need to be downtown or right near the ferry terminal. The hotel is very interested in guest feedback, so here it is: Until they do a major remodel, we won't stay here again or recommend this Red Lion to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,611 - 1,617 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a water-view room and enjoyed it very much. The towels and linens were very good in our room. The room was refreshed every day with new towels, beds made, etc. The breakfasts left a bit to be desired, and we felt like they weren't expecting our large group (110 old Chevys) even though we had booked months in advance. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are very nice and worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chrys H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Chrys,

I'm happy to hear you were able to attend the Chevy Car show, held here at the Redlion. Our staff thoroughly enjoyed everyone from your group and looking at all the beautiful cars in our parking lot. I really appreciate the review on Tripadvisor and I look forward to hosting your event next year!

Cheers- Namaste C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I've stayed at several Red Lion properties, in fact it's one of my preferred hotel chains when traveling with the family due to its (normally) good price/quality ratio. In fact, I stayed at this one in Port Angeles a couple of years ago and found it good then - but not this time.
First, I found the price pretty steep i.e. >2x what I paid at the much better Red Lion in Spokane just 3 weeks ago - I guess its down to location and local competition but it simply isn't worth it.
Next, we couldn't get a room with harbor view, in fact we couldn't even get a room in the main building and got put up in another building with a view of the parking lot.
Third, both rooms smelled damp and moldy and the carpet in one of them was indeed damp to the point of being wet in places - they told me it was due to very recent carpet cleaning (not leakage) which I hope is true but either way it was unpleasant and the room shouldn't have been sold before drying out.
Finally, the service was pretty poor, mainly in the reception - it was pretty busy when we arrived so I spent ~10 minutes observing the staff in action. One guest seemed to have problems with his reservation and instead of genuinely trying to help him the receptionist acted very aloof to the point where it seemed downright rude. Eventually she asked him to step aside and started serving me, at first she expressed the same attitude until but then realized I'm a loyalty club member and knew Red Lion's policies and procedures as well as she did - but that shouldn't be required to be treated with respect.
All up this was probably my worst Red Lion experience, there's clearly work to do to improve the property and the service - in the meantime Red Lion should consider halving the room prices to better reflect what you get for your money.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water, the view is much better and they have a small terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndyPandy0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I've stayed in a number of Red Lion hotels and generally they are very, very nice. This is not one of them. The location is fabulous and we splurged for a King "view" room. The room size was ample and it did have a view of the harbor. However, and this is probably my fault, the view faces north. Since Port Angeles is so far north in terms of latitude, there really is not sunset/sunrise kind of thing. It is a view of water, and occasionally you can see a cruise ship chugging along or the Black Ball ferry coming or leaving port. Otherwise, the room is just okay.

Regardless, the location is near the downtown area, and there are a plethora of restaurants, taverns, shops and of course the ferry within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cody w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This place needs a remodel. Carpets are dingy, room was smelly. I agree the place is a bit rundown. They also need to stock the rooms w/ newer towels. I was in a room facing the parking lot and near the pool, so it was noisey until just about 10 pm or a little after. The breakfast buffet is terrible.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Good afternoon~

Thank you for your comments. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. We strive to be a comfortable home away from home, and it is disappointing to hear we have fallen short. We are constantly making updates to our property and take comments and concerns such as yours as ways to improve. Thank you

Kind regards,

Hannah H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The room was very clean and they kept us supplied in coffee, ice tea, water, and coffee creamer. They were very nice and everyday the room was clean. The service was very good and they were all very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Jennifer,

I'm so very glad you enjoyed your time spent here with us at the RedLion hotel! We strive to provide excellent service to both our hotel guests and meeting room rentals. I look forward to seeing you again next time you are in this part of town!

Cheers,

Namaste C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Staff very friendly, helpful and team oriented. Rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. Everything worked. Water view great, walking path and small beach. On site restaurant excellent, free breakfast good. Shops and Saturday Market across the street. Short walk or drive to ferry. Big pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Trackman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Sorry I didn't see this! I hope we have a chance to see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
1.6 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
259 reviews
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#15 of 16 in Port Angeles
868 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Address: 221 N Lincoln St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-2920
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range: £56 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles has been setting the standard for Olympic Peninsula hospitality for over 30 years. Situated on the shores of Hollywood Beach overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca, we are one block from the town center and steps away from ferries leaving daily for Victoria, B.C. Our unique location is one of the most scenic the Northwest has to offer. Nearby you'll find great shopping and the many natural attractions of Olympic National Park, including rainforests and beaches. Hiking, golfing, fishing, and skiing are also close by.Many of our 186 spacious guestrooms and suites have balconies overlooking the harbor and feature Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and airport shuttle, as well as microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms feature coffee makers, complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and cable TV with Encore. When it's time to relax, we also have an outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center.The Port Angeles CrabHouse and Lounge serves up the best in seafood and steaks. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 3,010 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Our superior staff and shoreline location, make the Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles the right choice, whether you are on the Olympic Peninsula for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Port Angeles
Port Angeles Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing