We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Everything was wonderful. Beautiful view from our balcony. Very comfortable beds. Only complaints are the hotel ran out of soap and not enough towels. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandierathbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Traveler,

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Redlion. My apologies for the soap and towel problem you encountered, I hope that we were able to provide you with all the amenities you needed for your stay! We would love to see you here again!

Cheers,

Namaste C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 2,279 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

I found staying here to be a frustrating, annoying experience and would never stay here again. I'll try to keep this short.

Problems:

1. Inconsistent pricing of rooms. Yes, a lot of hotels play this game, but that doesn't make it OK, and I particularly don't like to have my arm twisted to join a loyalty program or to play games with whether breakfast is included or not (don't nickel and dime me to death, and if I say something about the pricing at the desk, just comp me the stupid breakfast).

2. $178/night for a sparsely furnished queen room overlooking an overstuffed parking lot? Not a good value, even with the location of the hotel itself. There was a reason that this hotel had rooms available when others were booked.

3. Ridiculously long dog policy to sign, which employees are not familiar with. I put the "dog in the room" card on the door, as asked (which I'd never been asked to do before -- and I stay with dogs a lot), and the card says specifically "do not disturb." An employee knocked anyway because the door was slightly cracked open, so of course my dogs barked. Oops, but I could get kicked out for my dogs barking. The employee was *extremely* rude when I pointed out to him that he shouldn't have knocked. "Sorry I didn't read the fine print." Yes, that is your job, and no, I don't want to have to deal with rude employees when I am sitting in my room minding my own business.

4. A phone call to see if my room was OK. Was that because of the altercation in #3, something they do to all guests (if so, it's annoying -- I don't want any phone calls), or are you checking up on me because of something the employee said?

On the positive side, the room was clean and the room service was reasonably priced and reasonably fast. That's not enough to bring me back, though.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hikeswith2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed one night on August 23rd and one night on August 30th. Booked two queen beds for both nights with the phone number listed on this website. The first night was across a room partying till about 11 pm with screaming and a lot of noises. Got only one queen bed for the second night during the late check in around 9:30 pm. I was offered a refund in the late evening during Labor Day holiday or a free rolled away bed with two free buffet breakfast since there was no room available with two beds. Was told that I did not book through the hotel so they did not know how much I paid and the price should be the same for one or two beds. The phone was cut off while waiting for the staff to check their record and the staff did not even attempt to call me back. Every step upstairs could be heard and felt. Had to turn off the noisy AC to sleep.The scramble eggs tasted awful and I do not eat meat. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean and renovated. Since we often took the Coho Ferry, it has been convenient to stay at this hotel for over a dozen trips in the past but have never experienced this kind of disappointment. The reservation systems between the Trip Advisor and the hotel were far from acceptable. The training of this particular receptionist required some updates.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is an old hotel with a great waterfront location. It is aging, however and has maintenance problems. In mid shower, the water stopped running not only in my room but also for another person in a different room. No apologies or adjustments were made by hotel staff.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the office as possible if you want water in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DLSWSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed over labor day weekend. It's close to everything food, shops,& the water. Beds r cozy. Rooms are clean. Coming back next year. Just wish the restaurant was better. Would recommend this hotel just not the restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettypaige1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Bettypaige,

I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us here at the Redlion Hotel. I'm very sorry for your disappointment with our restaurant. We hope to see you next year and to turn your opinion around!

Cheers!

Namaste' C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Ask for waterfront room!!!!! It's an Average hotel, rooms smell like old smoke. I know the hotel tries to guarantee non smoking but cannot control the guests! Beds were a little soft, but linens were nice and two separate sinks in clean bathroom. Very good tv. Staff all friendly. Breakfast adequate but buffet eggs tasted reconstituted. Dining room dinner was not good for any of us four.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank happygoingplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Karen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! My sincere apologies for the smell of the room, we are a non smoking facility and enforce that to the best of our abilities. I'm also very pleased to hear that our staff was so friendly and that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope to see you again!

Cheers,

Namaste' C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed at thus property two years ago and rated it very high. The rooms had been renovated and the customer service (front desk and housekeeping) were great. Not so this time.
Last weekend we stayed one night and were disappointed in the service and room. The clerk behind the counter was donee host non committal when it came to checking in early. Which we wee nit able to do. We also had to ask for our bottled waters.
Once inside our ground floor (162) room we surprised to see stains on the carpet...Yuck! When we entered the bathroom there was a dirty wash rag left in the bathtub...Yuck again.
For $ 164 a night we expect better. What happened Red Lion? You were 5 stars in 2012 and now maybe 2 1/2. :-(

Room Tip: Get a waterfront room...the path in front is lovely as is the beautiful water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bliss62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
1.6 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
260 reviews
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#15 of 16 in Port Angeles
872 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Address: 221 N Lincoln St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-2920
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range: £60 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles has been setting the standard for Olympic Peninsula hospitality for over 30 years. Situated on the shores of Hollywood Beach overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca, we are one block from the town center and steps away from ferries leaving daily for Victoria, B.C. Our unique location is one of the most scenic the Northwest has to offer. Nearby you'll find great shopping and the many natural attractions of Olympic National Park, including rainforests and beaches. Hiking, golfing, fishing, and skiing are also close by.Many of our 186 spacious guestrooms and suites have balconies overlooking the harbor and feature Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and airport shuttle, as well as microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms feature coffee makers, complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and cable TV with Encore. When it's time to relax, we also have an outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center.The Port Angeles CrabHouse and Lounge serves up the best in seafood and steaks. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 3,010 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Our superior staff and shoreline location, make the Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles the right choice, whether you are on the Olympic Peninsula for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Port Angeles
Port Angeles Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing