We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well...”
Review of Flagstone Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flagstone Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Well...”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel was fine, given the town and the other hotels in Port Angeles. If I ever came back to Port Angeles (which I probably wouldn't), I would probably splurge on the Olympic Lodge. I didn't book the Olympic Lodge because I thought it was pricey for the amount of time our family would be spending in the room since we were there to see Olympic National Park. That being said, the Flagstone Motel room was okay. I liked that the kids had a separate room and that there were queen sized beds in both rooms. The room was pretty dated but clean and met our needs for the 2 nights we were there. Just as a note, and something I wish I had understood before our trip to Olympic National Park, Port Angeles and the other towns surrounding Olympic National Park (like Forks, La Push and Aberdeen) are NOT what I would consider nice places. They appear to have hit their heyday in the early 1900s and not cleaned up since. You pretty much have to stay in these towns if you plan to spend any time in Olympic National Park (which I certainly recommend), so just be sure your expectations are set fairly low.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondReviewer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    59
    57
    25
    9
See reviews for
52
75
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MPLS
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Good location and relatively cheap rooms. Booked three nights here as I could not swallow spending 2x-3x this room rate at the Olympic Lodge. Non smoking room had a odor like it was previously smoked in. Blinds were mildewy and moldy like there had not been enough air circulation. No air conditioning so we had to sleep with the windows open to a very busy noisy street. At least a fan was provided to us. Decent size room and fairly clean. If if was not for the price I probably would have stayed elsewhere. Giving it an average rating due to the proximity of Hurricane Ridge and the price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pbownik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Driving around the peninsula, we stayed here for two nights. The Flagstone had a good price (relative to the rest of the town's offerings) so we gave it a shot.

The motel had a good central location to the main drag in town, and had easy access to the harbor area and local restaurants.

We had a room on the second floor - the second floor had parking on its own level (behind the motel adjacent to the alley).

The room was really warm - no AC in the room. They do provide a fan, although it was difficult to get a cool breeze working through the room at night - we were hesitant to leave the window open since it led directly to the outside walk.

You get what you pay for here - some of the amenities were missing, like places to hang towels to dry. The outlets were loose, and my power cords kept falling out on their own.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorNo303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were so deceived by the reviews and the webpage of the motel with the sophisticated look of the beds. I simply do not understand how people can give five stars to this place. The rooms are clean. Granted. Other than that, everything else is disappointment. Old rooms, with a view of the mountains in the background and the hotel roof right under your nose, the furniture was at least from the 1970s, the parking gave a sense of insecurity (a back alley) and breakfast consisted of cereals, tinted water and coffee: two tables and four chairs in the reception area while guests came in and out as there was no room to sit or even stand. To be avoided.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Angeles hotels

Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We pulled into Port Angeles around 9 at night for one night since we were taking the ferry over to Victoria the next day, This place was close to the ferry terminal and we were tired of driving in from Sea-Tac. The front desk clerk was very friendly and offered to let us park our car there for free for the two days we were staying in Victoria. The room was clean, maybe a little dated, but comfortable. No A/C so you need to have a window to open. Price wise I would expect to pay about $25 less than we did, but we didn't want to drive all over looking for a better deal and it seemed like the hotels were filling up even though it was a Tuesday. They do have a free continental breakfast which is very basic. I'd give the place 2 1/2 stars.

Room Tip: Get one with a window that opens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drodawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just a one night store on a road trip and far from our normal class of accommodation. The litmus test...bed comfort and shower pressure were both passes. But this dated. I must challenge the 4 and 5 ratings because if this was in Seattle it would not compete with the Westins or Fairmonts. On the up side staff were very friendly and helpful. Ironically I would critique the concept of a fan being a cooling system except that's what we have at home so it worked for us. Very simple...this is a 2-3 star motel and it sits in the upper range of that class but don't read the reviews and expect anything beyond that.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

PriceLine usually works well for us. They called this a 3-star hotel. We went through PriceLine in May and could not get a hotel for bid, so we chose to get the express deal, The so-called 3-star hotel is a couple steps below Motel 6. I wouldn't have minded it so much, but when you have asked for a 3-star and get what we got for the same price, it is nothing short of false advertising. Their swimming pool lacked water (I usually consider this essential for swimming pools and it makes jumping in rather painful). It was loaded with construction material and the outside of the pool stored unused furniture. The parking lot was in the back of the rooms adjacent to an alley (no feelings of security there). The curtain was frayed, the door was rusty, the bathroom seat was loose and flimsy, the lamp wouldn't turn on, and the wifi cut out. The exterior was damaged and dumpy looking. I wouldn't go back, but I wouldn't be infuriated if we had come and this was the only motel. However, to bill themselves on Priceline as 3-star is false advertising in my book. I am seeking remedy from Priceline.com and Booking.com, but each is placing blame on the next guy, (ultimately the motel owner) instead of solving the problem. Their representative told me there were no other motel rooms in a 60 mile radius, and we were 3 blocks from the ferry from which we needed to leave in the morning. They called the front desk and asked for him to give me a refund as long as we vacated, to which he finally agreed, but where do we spend the night? I write this as a warning to any Priceline customer who comes to Port Angeles.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mugshotmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#14 of 16 in Port Angeles
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Victorian Motel
Royal Victorian Motel
#6 of 16 in Port Angeles
448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Inn
Riviera Inn
#12 of 16 in Port Angeles
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstone Motel

Property: Flagstone Motel
Address: 415 E 1st St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-3111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flagstone Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagstone Motel is delightful get-away for you, your family, and friends. We are 2 blocks from Downtown Port Angeles where you will enjoy a wide variety of restaurants and shopping, making the motel a good base camp as you explores the area. We want to make your visit as comfortable as possible. We offer clean, comfortable elegantly decorated rooms with all the charm and amenities to help you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Flagstone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstone Hotel Port Angeles
Flagstone Motel Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing